Virginia Wins NCAA Men's Tennis Championship

TULSA, Okla. ( - The top-seeded Virginia men’s tennis team (30-4) won its second-straight NCAA Championship with a 4-1 victory over No. 11 Oklahoma (20-11) on Tuesday (May 24) playing indoors at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla.

Sophomore Henrik Wiersholm (Kirkland, Wash.) clinched the victory by winning a tiebreaker in the second set at No. 6 singles.

In doubles, junior J.C. Aragone (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and sophomore Collin Altamirano (Sacramento, Calif.) cruised to a 6-1 victory at No. 3 doubles. Junior Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (Charlotte, N.C.) and senior Mac Styslinger (Birmingham, Ala.) played a tight match at No. 2, but were broken when serving 5-5. Oklahoma held serve and tied it up with a 7-5 victory. On court one, senior Ryan Shane (Falls Church, Va.) and junior Luca Corinteli (Alexandria, Va.) held serve to take a 6-5 lead and then broke the Sooners to win 7-5 and secure the doubles point for the Cavaliers.

In singles, Aragone put the Cavaliers up 2-0 with a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Florin Bragusi on court five. Kwiatkowski, who earned the Outstanding Player of the Tournament honor, trailed 4-1 in the first set, but rallied to give Virginia a 3-0 lead with a 6-4, 6-4 victory over Spencer Papa. Shane fell 7-6, 6-0 to Andrew Harris to give Oklahoma its point. On court six, after winning his first set 6-2, Wiersholm battled back from down two breaks in his second set to tie it up 5-5, only to go back down a break. Wiersholm again battled back and tied it back up, 6-6, to force a tiebreaker. Wiersholm won the tiebreaker 7-2 to clinch the match. Sophomore Alexander Ritschard (Zurich, Switzerland) was serving to win his match on court four at the time Wiersholm won on six.

For the second-straight day, the Cavaliers endured a weather delay with lightning and rain moving the match indoors with an hour-late start time.

Aragone and Altamirano were named to the All-Tournament Team at No. 3 doubles with Corinteli and Shane also earning honors at No. 1. In singles, Wiersholm, Aragone, Ritschard and Kwitakowski all were named to the All-Tournament team.

Virginia and Oklahoma met last year in the NCAA final with the Cavaliers winning the program’s second NCAA title with a 4-1 victory over the Sooners in Waco, Texas. Virginia won its first championship in 2013 to give the Cavaliers three titles in four years.

#1 Virginia 4, #11 Oklahoma 1

Singles competition
1. #97 Andrew Harris (OU) def. #8 Ryan Shane (VA) 7-6 (7-3), 6-0
2. #33 Collin Altamirano (VA) vs. #25 Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU) 5-7, 3-4, unfinished
3. #9 Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (VA) def. #82 Spencer Papa (OU) 6-4, 6-4
4. #78 Alexander Ritschard (VA) vs. #61 Alex Ghilea (OU) 6-1, 1-6, 5-2, unfinished
5. #110 J.C. Aragone (VA) def. Florin Bragusi (OU) 6-3, 6-4
6. Henrik Wiersholm (VA) def. Andre Biro (OU) 6-2, 7-6 (7-2)

Doubles competition
1. #4 Luca Corinteli/Ryan Shane (VA) def. #24 Axel Alvarez Llamas/Andrew Harris (OU) 7-5
2. Alex Ghilea/Spencer Papa (OU) def. #16 Thai-Son Kwiatkowski/Mac Styslinger (VA) 7-5
3. J.C. Aragone/Collin Altamirano (VA) def. Andre Biro/Austin Siegel (OU) 6-1
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (5,3,1,6)