Virginia’s Morgan Brian Repeats as Hermann Trophy Winner


Brian is the 12th recipient from the ACC to earn soccer’s top honor

ST. LOUIS, Mo. ( – Virginia senior midfielder Morgan Brian has collected soccer’s top honor for the second straight season as she was named the 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy winner Friday in a ceremony at the Missouri Athletic Club in downtown St. Louis. The award marks the third straight year an Atlantic Coast Conference student-athlete has earned the prestigious honor.

Brian’s award marks the 12th by an ACC student-athlete in league history. She is the fourth individual to win the award in back-to-back years and the third from the ACC, joining North Carolina’s Mia Hamm (1992-93), North Carolina’s Cindy Parlow (1997-98), and Portland’s Christine Sinclair (2004-05). An ACC player has won the last three MAC Hermann Trophies (Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, 2012; Morgan Brian, Virginia, 2013).

Brian, who was named the National Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, had 10 goals and 14 assists in 2014, appearing in 18 games as the Cavaliers reached the NCAA final for the first time. The first three-time NSCAA First-Team All-American in Virginia history, she was named the 2014 U.S. Soccer Young Female Athlete of the Year. Brian missed eight games this season because of international duty as she was the only collegiate player on the United States Women’s National Team for the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying tournament in October. Upon her return to the lineup, she was UVa’s leading scorer in this year’s NCAA Tournament with four goals and nine assists, including tying the NCAA Tournament single-game record with five assists in the 8-0 first-round victory over High Point.

Brian was honored along with of Leo Stolz of UCLA, who was the men’s recipient of the award. The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), along with a fan vote that cumulatively counted as the equivalent of one coach's vote. Dagny Brynjarsdottir of Florida State was the runner-up for the women’s award and Sam Mewis of UCLA was third in the voting.