Virginia Captures 16th ACC Rowing Title, Sweeping All Five Events

Duke Ties Syracuse For Second Place       

Clemson, S.C. — Virginia captured its 16th Atlantic Coast Conference Rowing title in the 17 years of the Championship, sweeping all five individual events at the 2016 ACC Rowing Championship Saturday on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, South Carolina.

On a day when rowing conditions were almost perfect, with calm winds and temperatures in the low 70s, the Cavaliers, coached by Kevin Sauer, swept all five events and now have not lost an individual ACC rowing event in four years. The title for the Cavaliers was their seventh straight, all held at Clemson.

 “Each one (ACC Championship) is special,” Sauer said. “This is great. We challenged the kids to step up even more than they did in the heats yesterday, and they really came through. It was an excellent regatta and we’re really happy to get the win today.”

Virginia finished with 99 total points, followed by Duke and Syracuse with 75 points each, Notre Dame (68), Louisville (60), Clemson (47), Boston College (31), Miami (22) and North Carolina (16).

Duke, ranked 19th nationally, used second-place finishes in the First Varsity Eight, the Second Varsity Eight and the First Varsity Four events to finish tied for second with Syracuse with 75 points. 
Duke’s head coach Megan Cooke Carcagno, who guided the Blue Devils to the surprise second-place effort despite not having a boat in the Second Varsity Four event, was named the ACC Coach of the Year in her first season as head coach of the Blue Devils.

Virginia freshman Heidi Long from Buckinghamshire, England, who rowed the five seat on Virginia’s First Varsity Eight was named the ACC Freshman of the Year.

Virginia captured the First Varsity Eight race with one of the fastest times in ACC history. The 6:14.989 clocking by UVA was the second fastest time in the ACC Rowing Championship. The race itself was the fastest in league history with four teams—Virginia, Duke (6:20.444), Syracuse (6:20.485) and Notre Dame (6:23.727)—all finishing in under 6:24 for the first time.
The First Varsity Eight of Virginia, which was voted the ACC’s Crew of the Year, is composed of coxswain: Colette Lucas-Conwell (Jr. Palo Alto, Calif.); Stroke: Tessa Dikkers (Sr., Pelham, N.Y.); 7-Seat: Georgia Ratcliff (Jr., Falls Church, Va.); 6-Seat: Eliza Spilsbury (So., Centreville, Mass.); 5-Seat: Heidi Long (Fr., Buckinghamshire, England); 4-Seat: Erin Briggs (Jr., Orono, Minn.); 3-Seat: Jennifer Reid (Sr., Stafford, Va.); 2-Seat: Alice Darry (So., West Melton, New Zealand); Bow: Sam Casto (Sr., Dallas, Pa.).

The Cavaliers captured the grand final of the Second Varsity Eight, posting a time of 6:25.411, finishing ahead of Duke (6:32.322) and Notre Dame (6:32.326), with the Blue Devils taking a photo finish for second place.

Virginia’s Second Varsity Eight is composed of coxswain: Izzi Weiss (Fr., Chicago, Ill.); Stroke: Ellen Pate (Jr., Lafayette, Calif.);  7-Seat: Janey Brennan (Jr., Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.); 6-Seat: Allie Nicholson (Jr., Charlottesville, Va.); 5-Seat: Jane Hudson (So., Sandy, Utah); 4-Seat: Maxime Lubbers (Sr., Amsterdam, The Netherlands); 3-Seat: Chelsea Adams (sr., Chesapeake, Va.); 2-Seat: Mackenzi Sherman (Sr., Los Alamitos, Calif.); Bow: Hannah Solis-Cohen (Sr., New York, N.Y.).

UVA captured the First Varsity Four race, posting a time of 7:12.779. Duke and Syracuse battled in a very close finish for second place with the Blue Devils again winning, this time by six-tenths (7:20.113) of a second ahead of the Orange (7:20.740).

Virginia’s First Varsity Four is composed of coxswain: Rachel Dick (So., Bethesda, Md.); Stroke: Taylor Leonard (Jr., Arlington, Va.); 3-Seat: Jo Gurman (Jr., Weston, Conn.); 2-Seat: Morgan Rosts (So., Jordan, Ontario); Bow: Karen Schulte (Jr., Trout Run, Pa.).

Virginia also won the Second Varsity Four, posting a time of 7:16.407. The Cavaliers’ Second Varsity Four is composed of coxswain: Adi Hendlin (So., Tallahassee, Fla.); Stroke: Mackenzie King (Fr., Yardley, Pa.); 3-Seat: Georgia Gray (Fr., Seattle, Wash.); 2-Seat: Grace Tuttle (Sr., Vienna, Va.); Bow: Mackenzie Springer (So, Fairfax, Va.).

Virginia also captured the final race of the day, posting a time of 6:31.296 in winning by four seconds over second-place Louisville, 6:35.741. 

The UVA Third Varsity Eight is composed of coxswain: Melody Gordon (So., Dumfries, Va.); Stroke: Lyndsay Martini (Jr., Falls Church, Va.); 5-Seat: Madelyn Clark (Sr., Mechanicsville, Va.); 6-Seat: Eliza Daniels (Jr., Hingham, Mass.); 5-Seat: Emmy Bateman (Jr., Stanwood, Wash.); 4-Seat: Dana Lueker (Jr., Williamsburg, Va.); 3-Seat: Ellie Stewart (So., London, England); 2-Seat: Kameryn Corcoran (Jr., Middletown, Md.); Bow: Mary Beth Greer (So., Wilton, Conn.).

ACC Championship Order of Finish:
1. Virginia, 99
2. Duke, 75
Syracuse, 75
4. Notre Dame, 68
5. Louisville, 60
6. Clemson, 47
7. Boston College, 31
8. Miami, 22
9. North Carolina, 16

2016 ACC Rowing Crew of the Year
Coxswain: Colette Lucas-Conwell (Jr. Palo Alto, Calif.)
Stroke: Tessa Dikkers (Sr., Pelham, N.Y.)
7-Seat: Georgia Ratcliff (Jr., Falls Church, Va.)
6-Seat: Eliza Spilsbury (So., Centreville, Mass.)
5-Seat: Heidi Long (Fr., Buckinghamshire, England)
4-Seat: Erin Briggs (Jr., Orono, Minn.)
3-Seat: Jennifer Reid (Sr., Stafford, Va.)
2-Seat: Alice Darry (So., West Melton, New Zealand)
Bow: Sam Casto (Sr., Dallas, Pa.).

2016 ACC Rowing Freshman of the Year—Heidi Long, Virginia (Buckinghamshire, England)

2016 ACC Rowing Coach of the Year—Megan Cooke Carcagno, Duke

2016 All-ACC Rowing Team
First Team
Coxswain—Colette Lucas-Conwell, Virginia
Jennifer Reid, Virginia
Tessa Dikkers, Virginia
Sam Casto, Virginia
Alex Stonehill, Duke
Katie Duckovich, Duke
Deidre Fitzpatrick, Syracuse
Joanna Mulvey, Notre Dame
Kristie Harrison, Louisville

Second Team
Coxswain—Simone Pitre, Duke
Mackenzi Sherman, Virginia
Kari Tomeny, Syracuse
Hilary Shinnick, Notre Dame
Katie Nord, Louisville
Paula Wesselman, Clemson
Catherine Goldberg, Boston College
Chelsea Gustafson, North Carolina
Ally White, Miami

ACC Championship Finals Results
Calm. Sunny, temperatures in the low 70’s

First Varsity Eight Petite Final
1. Miami, 6:41.569; 2. Boston College, 6:52.142;  3. North Carolina, 6:56.891.

First Varsity Eight Grand Final
1. Virginia, 6:14.989; 2. Duke, 6:20.444; 3. Syracuse, 6:20.495; 4. Notre Dame, 6:23.727; 5. Louisville, 6:29.089; 6. Clemson, 6:34.456

Second Varsity Eight Petite Final
1. Boston College, 6:48.549; 2. Miami, 6:49.567; 3. North Carolina, 6:52.890.

Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
1. Virginia, 6:25.411; 2. Duke, 6:32.322;  3. Notre Dame, 6:32.326;  4. Syracuse, 6:37.501;  5. Louisville, 6:38.103; 6. Clemson, 6:51.296.

First Varsity Four, Petite Final
1. Boston College, 7:35.298; 2. North Carolina, 7:37.649; 3. Miami, 8:00.314.

First Varsity Four, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 7:13.779; 2. Duke, 7:20.113;  3. Syracuse, 7:20.740;  4. Notre Dame, 7:21.182; 5. Louisville, 7:30.765;  6. Clemson, 7:37.175.

Second Varsity Four, Petite Final
1. North Carolina, 7:52.65;  2. Miami, 7:57.551.

Second Varsity Four, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 7:16.407;  2. Syracuse, 7:24.194; 3. Louisville, 7:26.668; 4. Clemson, 7:27.292; 5. Notre Dame, 7:28.048; 6. Boston College, 7:43.463.

Third Varsity Eight, Petite Final
1. Duke, 6:58.091; 2. North Carolina, 7:08.061.

Third Varsity Eight, Grand Final
1. Virginia, 6:31.296;  2. Louisville, 6:35.741; 3. Syracuse. 6:42.092; 4. Notre Dame, 6:43.143; 5. Clemson, 6:50.841;  6. Boston College, 6:56.890.