USTFCCCA Recognizes 10 From ACC

Six student-athletes, four coaches earn regional honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Six Atlantic Coast Conference indoor track and field student athletes and four coaches were recognized as the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced regional award winners for the 2015-16 season.

Clemson’s Tevin Hester was honored as the Southeast Region men’s track athlete of the year. Notre Dame’s Molly Seidel earned Northeast Region women’s track athlete recognition, while NC State’s Erika Kemp was named the top Southeast Region women’s track performer.

Pitt’s Andrew Wells was named the top Mid-Atlantic men’s field athlete, while NC State’s Jonathan Addison was honored from the Southeast Region. Duke’s Megan Clark was honored as the top Southeast Region women’s field athlete.

Syracuse’s Chris Fox earned Northeast Region Coach of the Year honors, while Miami’s Amy Deem earned the Southeast women’s award. Both led their respective teams to the title as last week’s ACC Indoor Championships in Boston.

Dave Hegland of Syracuse was named the Northeast Region’s top assistant coach, while Duke’s Shawn Wilbourn took the same honor on the Southeast women’s side.

Clemson’s Hester, from Oxford, North Carolina, won the ACC title at 60 and 200 meters this season, repeating as the league’s 200 champ. He will compete in both events at the NCAA meet (March 11-12 at Birmingham, Alabama), where he is seeded sixth and 11th, respectively.

Notre Dame’s Seidel, from Hartland, Wisconsin, is undefeated at both 3000 and 5000 meters this season heading into the NCAA Championships, into which she also qualified as a member of the ND distance medley relay. She ran 15:19.64 to win the ACC 5000-meter title, giving her the collegiate lead and the No. 4 spot on the all-time college performers list. She also claimed the 3000 meters ACC crown, and is ranked No. 2 in that event at 8:57.13.

NC State’s Kemp, a junior from Mount Holly, New Jersey, qualified for the NCAA meet in both the 3000 and 5000 meters. She enters both events as the No. 6 seed, having claimed a 9:06.07 at the Husky Classic in the 3k and a 15:45.46 at December’s BU Opener. She placed third at the ACC Championships in the 5000 meters.

Pitt’s Wells, a redshirt senior from Unionville, Ontario, won the ACC weight throw title with a winning heave of 21.92m (71-11) to put him at No. 7 in the country in the event. Throughout the season he broke his own school record on three separate occasions. He will compete in the weight throw at the NCAA Championships.

NC State’s Addison, a senior from Raleigh, North Carolina, has three times this year long jumped over the 26-foot barrier three times, surpassing the NC State record with a best of 26-9¾ (8.17m) at the VT Elite meet. He won the ACC crown and enters the NCAA meet as the collegiate leader in the event.

Duke’s Clark, a senior from Fort Benning, Georgia, is a co-collegiate leader in the pole vault via an ACC record clearance of 15-1 (4.60m). Undefeated against collegiate competition this season, her ACC title win at 14-10 (4.52m) established a new league championships record.

Under Fox’s tutelage, the Orange won its first ACC Indoor Track & Field Championship in program history and its first conference title since 1992. Fox, in his 11th year at Syracuse, will send five athletes to compete at the upcoming NCAA meet.

Deem, in her 26th year as head coach of the Hurricanes, led them to their first ACC Indoor championship since 2006. Her athletes earned 14 All-ACC honors, with nine of those being first-team mention. Miami is currently ranked 16th in the latest USTFCCCA National Team Computer Rankings and will have six entries at the upcoming NCAA meet.

Hegland, in his 11th year coaching sprints, hurdles and jumps with Syracuse, helped guide the team to its first ACC Indoor title in program history and first indoor title since 1992. His athlete, Freddie Crittenden III, won the ACC title in the 60-meter hurdles and will compete at the upcoming NCAA meet as the eighth seed.

Wilbourn’s student-athletes scored 44 of Duke’s 59 points at the ACC Championships in the combined events, pole vault, jumps, hurdles and sprints. In the process, Megan Clark and Karli Johonnot won individual ACC titles in the pole vault and pentathlon, respectively. For Wilbourn in his eighth year at Duke, his squad has four qualifiers to the NCAA Championships.