USILA Honors Position Players of the Year and All-America Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twenty-two ACC men’s lacrosse student-athletes have earned 2016 All-America honors, as announced last week by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

Included in the ACC’s 22 selections were 14 players who were named to the first, second or third teams. 

NCAA Champion North Carolina led all ACC schools with six honorees, while Notre Dame and Syracuse each had five. Duke had four named to the All-America Team, and Virginia had one. 

First-team selections include: Duke’s Myles Jones and Deemer Class, Notre Dame’s Matt Landis and Sergio Perkovic, and Syracuse’s Dylan Donahue.

Jake Matthai of North Carolina, Matt Kavanagh and John Sexton of Notre Dame, and Syracuse’s Nick Mariano, Sergio Salcido, Ben Williams and Brandon Mullins each earned second-team honors.

The third team featured North Carolina’s Austin Pifani and Notre Dame’s Shane Doss. 

Duke’s Jones also collected the Lt. j.g.  Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award Outstanding Midfielder honor for the second straight year, while Notre Dame’s Landis also repeated as  the William C. Schmeisser Award Outstanding Defensive Player. 

A three-time All-American and two-time Tewaaraton Award finalist, Jones will go down in history as one of the best midfielders to play Division I lacrosse. Jones, the 2016 ACC Offensive Player of the Year, made history this season, becoming the first midfielder in NCAA Division I lacrosse history to record 100 goals and 100 assists in his career. He currently holds the Duke single-season and career records for a midfielder in points and assists and ranks second in goals.

In 2016, Jones finished second on the team in scoring with 70 points from 33 goals and 37 assists. In his 18 starts this season, Jones scored five-plus points five times, registered three hat tricks and put together five performances with at least three assists. The Huntington, New York, native tallied 11 points (5g, 6a) in the loss to North Carolina to tie the single-game record for points.

He is the first ACC player to earn the Lt. j.g.  Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award Outstanding Midfielder honor back-to-back seasons. 

Landis helped anchor a Notre Dame defense that allowed 8.0 goals per game this season and ranked seventh nationally in that category. The two-time Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year and two-time USILA first-team All-American keyed a Notre Dame defense that also ranked seventh in caused turnovers (8.47 per game). A two-time first-team all-ACC honoree, Landis started all 15 games for the Irish this season, collected 34 ground balls and led the team in caused turnovers with 19. 

Landis is the first ACC player since North Carolina’s Tom Haus (1986-87) to repeat as the William C. Schmeisser Award Outstanding Defensive Player and second overall in league history.

2016 USILA/Nike Individual Honors
Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award (Outstanding Midfielder Award) – Myles Jones, Duke
William C. Schmeisser Award (Outstanding Defensive Player) – Matt Landis, Notre Dame

2016 USILA/Nike All-America Team 
First Team
A - Dylan Donahue, R-Sr., Syracuse
M -  Myles Jones, Sr., Duke 
M - Deemer Class, Sr., Duke 
M - Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame
D -  Matt Landis, Sr., Notre Dame 

Second Team
A - Matthew Kavanagh, Sr., Notre Dame
M - Nick Mariano, Jr., Syracuse 
M - Sergio Salcido, R-Jr., Syracuse
LSM - John Sexton, Notre Dame
SSM - Jake Matthai, Sr., North Carolina
F/O - Ben Williams, Jr., Syracuse 
D - Brandon Mullins, R-Sr., Syracuse

Third Team
D -  Austin Pifani, Jr., North Carolina
G - Shane Doss, University of Notre Dame

Honorable Mention
A -  Justin Guterding, So., Duke 
A - Steven Pontrello, Sr., North Carolina
M -   Patrick Kelly, Sr., North Carolina 
M - Michael Tagliaferri, R-Jr., North Carolina
M - Zed Williams, Jr., Virginia
LSM -  Michael Howard, Jr., Virginia
F/O - Stephen Kelly, Jr., North Carolina
F/O - Kyle Rowe, Jr., Duke