U.S. Women's National Team Members to Appear at ACC Women’s Soccer Championship

O’Reilly, Engen, Chalupny and Harris to sign autographs during Friday’s semifinal session at Cary, N.C.


CARY, N.C. (theACC.com) – An autograph session featuring four members of the 2015 United States FIFA Women's World Cup gold medal team will be part of the ACC Women’s Soccer Championship semifinals Friday evening at WakeMed Soccer Park.

Current U.S. National Team members and former ACC standouts Heather O’Reilly, Whitney Engen, Lori Chalupny and Ashlyn Harris will meet fans and sign autographs between the two semifinal games – from approximately 7:30 until 8 p.m.

A fireworks show is also scheduled between games of the ACC Women’s Soccer Championship semifinals, which will feature four teams currently ranked among the nation’s top 10. 

Top-seeded Virginia (15-1-1), coached by U.S. Women’s National Team assistant Steve Swanson, will meet fourth-seeded Clemson (13-3-1) in Friday’s opening semifinal game at 5:30 p.m. The second semifinal game at 8 p.m. will have second-seeded and defending national champion Florida State (13-2-3) facing third-seeded North Carolina (14-3-1). 

The attending members of the U.S. National Team will be recognized on the field at halftime of the second semifinal game. Friday’s winners will play for the championship and the league’s automatic berth in the 2015 NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship on Sunday at noon.

Adult tickets are $10 for each day’s session. Attendees 18 years of age and under, as well as all college students with a valid school ID, will be admitted free. A ticket to Friday’s session covers both semifinal matches. 

To purchase tickets, please visit: http://theacc.co/WSOC15tix. Parking at WakeMed Soccer Park is free.

In addition to helping the United States become the first women’s soccer team to win a record third FIFA Women’s World Cup title, O’Reilly was also a member of the 2012 U.S. squad that captured a gold medal in the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London. As a collegian, O’Reilly received the 2006-07 Honda Award for Women’s Soccer. Engen earned the same honor in 2009-10.

For complete bios on O’Reilly, Engen, Chalupny, Harris and other members of the U.S. National Team, please see http://www.ussoccer.com/womens-national-team/latest-roster