Two ACC Quarterbacks Named Finalists for Walter Camp Football Foundation 2016 Player of the Year Award

NEW HAVEN, CONN. ( - Two ACC quarterbacks made the list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2016 Player of the Year award. Lamar Jackson (Louisville) and Deshaun Watson (Clemson) are the ACC finalists. 

The 2016 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 129 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 8 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 50th annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 14, 2017 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit

LAMAR JACKSON – LOUISVILLE – Sophomore – Quarterback – Jackson has accounted for 51 touchdowns (30 passing, 21 rushing) for the 9-3 Cardinals.  He has thrown for 3,390 yards (220-for-382) and rushed for 1,538 yards – which is good for second in the Atlantic Coast Conference.  He passed 300 or more yards four times, and had eight 100-yard rushing efforts.  He was a three-time Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week (Sept. 4, Sept. 11 and Nov. 6).

DESHAUN WATSON – CLEMSON – Junior – Quarterback – The leader of the third-ranked Tigers offense, Deshaun Watson has accumulated 4,070 yards of total offense and 38 total touchdowns.  He has passed for 3,626 yards (306-of-453) and 34 touchdowns this season.  Watson’s 302.2 passing yards per game average leads the Atlantic Coast Conference.  Clemson (11-1) will play Virginia Tech on Dec. 3 in the ACC Championship Game.