Twenty-Two ACC Fencers Selected for NCAA Championship

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Fencing Committee has announced the field of 144 competitors who will participate in the 2016 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships, including 22 from the ACC. Brandeis University will host the championships at Gosman Sports and Convocation Center in Waltham, Massachusetts, from March 24-27.

The National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships include individual events in each of the six weapons (men’s épée, men’s foil, men’s sabre, women’s épée, women’s foil and women’s sabre).

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts. After the round-robin, the top-four finishers in each weapon will fence in semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the non-advancing fencers being awarded a tie for third place.

An institution’s place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual. A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships.

For more information about the championships log on to A live feed of the semi-final and final bouts will be available on ESPN3 or the WatchESPN App. The semi-finals and finals, along with other championships highlights will air on ESPNU at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time on April 6.

2016 NCAA Fencing Championship Participants from the ACC
Men's Epee
Peter Wetzel, Boston College
Bryn Hammarberg, Duke
Garrett McGrath, Notre Dame
Darius Zacharakis, Notre Dame

Men's Foil
Axel Kiefer, Notre Dame
Virgile Collineau, Notre Dame

Men's Sabre
Pascual Di Tella, Duke
Charles Copti, Duke
Matthew Garrelick, North Carolina
Jonathan Fitzgerald, Notre Dame
Jonah Shainberg, Notre Dame

Women's Epee
Renee Bichette, Boston College
Isabella Barna, Duke
Catherine Lee, Notre Dame
Madeline Antekeier, Notre Dame

Women's Foil
Kristen Coury, Duke
Sabrina Massialas, Notre Dame
Nicole McKee, Notre Dame

Women's Sabre
Haley Fisher, Duke
Meredith Bozentka, North Carolina
Francesca Russo, Notre Dame
Tara Hassett, Notre Dame