Twenty-Two ACC Fencers Selected For NCAA Championship

Championship to be held March 19-22 at Ohio State

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Fencing Committee has announced the field of 144 competitors who will participate in the 2015 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships, including 22 from the ACC. The Ohio State University will host the championships at French Fieldhouse in Columbus, Ohio.

The National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships include individual events in each of the six weapons (men’s épée, men’s foil, men’s sabre, women’s épée, women’s foil, women’s sabre). The men will compete on March 19-20, followed by the women on March 21-22.

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts. After the round-robin, the top-four finishers in each weapon will fence in semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the non-advancing fencers being awarded a tie for third place.

An institution’s place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual. A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships.

For more information about the championships log on to To catch live coverage of the event, log in to ESPN3 or the WatchESPN app. An hour long, documentary-style highlight show of the National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships will air on ESPNU at 3 p.m. Eastern time, Wednesday, April 8.

2015 NCAA Fencing Championship Participants from the ACC

Men's Epée
Dean Ischiropoulos, Duke
Nicholas Hanahan, Notre Dame
Garrett McGrath, Notre Dame

Men's Foil
Virgile Collineau, Notre Dame
Ariel DeSmet, Notre Dame

Men's Sabre
Pascual Di Tella, Duke
Chris Monti, Duke
Jonathan Fitzgerald, Notre Dame
Jonah Shainberg, Notre Dame

Women's Epée
Olivia Adragna, Boston College
Renee Bichette, Boston College
Isabella Barna, Duke
Sarah Collins, Duke
Nicole Ameli, Notre Dame
Ashley Severson, Notre Dame

Women's Foil
Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame
Madison Zeiss, Notre Dame

Women's Sabre
Haley Fisher, Duke
Jennifer Ling, Duke
Gillian Litynski, North Carolina
Claudia Kulmacz, Notre Dame
Francesca Russo, Notre Dame