Twenty-Three ACC Wrestlers Earn Seeds At 2016 NCAA Championship

Highest Total of Seeded Wrestlers at the NCAA Championships in ACC History
League Sends 38 Total Wrestlers to NCAA Championship
NC State’s Nick Gwiazdowski Seeded No. 1 at 285

GREENSBORO, NC — A total of 23 Atlantic Coast Conference wrestlers earned seeds to the 2016 NCAA Wrestling Championship, which will be held this Thursday through Saturday at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The 23 seeded wrestlers are the highest total in ACC history, topping the 16 ACC wrestlers who were seeded in the 2015 NCAA Championship.

Of the 23 ACC wrestlers who were seeded, 15 earned Top 10 seeds, also an all-time high for the Conference. The previous high of 11 top 10 seeds was established in 2014, when the ACC was a seven-team wrestling league, instead of its current six wrestling teams.

NC State heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski, the two-time NCAA Champion from Delanson, New York, is seeded first in the 285-pound weight class. He enters the NCAA Championship having won 84 consecutive matches, the longest current streak in the nation. He will begin his quest for a third straight national title and fourth All-American citation Thursday morning against Gage Hutchinson of Eastern Michigan.

Virginia Tech junior Joey Dance (125), from Christiansburg, Virginia, and NC State redshirt senior Thomas Gantt (157), from Cahokia, Illinois, were both seeded second in their respective weight classes.

Tech’s heavyweight Ty Walz, a redshirt junior from Cleveland, Ohio, and NC State sophomore 141-pounder, Kevin Jack of Danbury, Connecticut, were each seeded third.

Virginia Tech led all ACC schools with eight seeded wrestlers. ACC champion NC State had six, followed by North Carolina (4), Virginia and Duke (2) and Pitt (1).

Nine ACC wrestlers are seeking to repeat as All-Americans. Gwiazdowski, Dance, Jack, Walz, Conner Hartmann of Duke (197), Evan Henderson (149) and Ethan Ramos (174) of North Carolina, as well as Nick Brascetta (157) and Zack Epperly (174) of Virginia Tech.

Hartmann, who earned All-American honors in each of the past two years, Brascetta, who earned All-American honors in 2013 and last year, and Henderson, who was an All-American in 2013 and 2014, are seeking their third All-American citations.

ACC Seeded Wrestlers in NCAA Championship: (23)

Duke (2)
5thConner Hartmann (197)
14thMitch Finesilver (149)

North Carolina (4)
4th—Ethan Ramos (174)
8thJoey Ward (141)
8thEvan Henderson (149)
11thJohn Michael Staudenmeyer (165)

NC State (6)
1st—Nick Gwiazdowski (285)
2nd—Thomas Gantt (157)
3rdKevin Jack (141)
5th—Max Rohskopf (165)
12thMichael Boykin (197)
13thPete Renda (184)

Pitt (1)
11thDom Forys (133)

Virginia (2)
6thGeorge DiCamillo (133)
14thZach Nye (197)

Virginia Tech (8)
2nd—Joey Dance (125)
3rdTy Walz (285)
5thZack Zavatsky (184)
6th—Jared Haught (197)
7th—Solomon Chishko (141)
8th—Nick Brascetta (157)
8th—Zach Epperly (174)
14th—David McFadden (165)

All ACC Wrestlers in the NCAA Championship (38)

Duke (4)
141—Zack Finesilver
149—Mitch Finesilver (14)
165—Jake Faust
197—Conner Hartmann (5)

North Carolina (7)
141—Joey Ward (8)
149Evan Henderson (8)
157—Robert Henderson
165—John Michael Staudenmeyer (11)
174—Ethan Ramos (4)
184—Alex Utley
197—Chip Ness

NC State (8)
125Sean Fausz
133—Jamal Morris
141—Kevin Jack (3)
157—Thomas Gantt (2)
165—Max Rohskopf (5)
184—Pete Renda (13)
197—Michael Boykin (12)
285—Nick Gwiazdowski (1)

Pitt (6)
125LJ Bentley
133Dom Forys (11)
165—Cody Wiercioch
174—TeShan Campbell
197—Nick Bonaccorsi
285—Ryan Solomon

Virginia (5)
125Nick Herrmann
133—George DiCamillo (6)
157—Andrew Atkinson
197—Zach Nye (14)
285—Patrick Gillen

Virginia Tech (8)
125—Joey Dance (2)
141—Solomon Chishko (7)
157—Nick Brascetta (8)
165—David McFadden (14)
174—Zach Epperly (8)
184—Zack Zavatsky (5)
197—Jared Haught (6)
285—Ty Walz (3)