Twelve Earn Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Honors

Four league players named to first team

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twelve Atlantic Coast Conference baseball players have been named to the 2015 Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Teams, as selected by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.

The 12 preseason All-Americans from the ACC tied for the most in the nation with the Pac-12.

The ACC contingent is led by four players on the first team: Florida State’s D.J. Stewart, Louisville’s Kyle Funkhouser, Miami’s Zack Collins, and Virginia’s Nathan Kirby. 

Five players garnered second-team accolades: Boston College’s Chris Shaw, Miami’s Andrew Suarez and Bryan Garcia, and Virginia’s Brandon Waddell and Joe McCarthy. Clemson’s Steven Duggar, and North Carolina’s Trent Thornton and Reilly Hovis were selected to the third team.

The 2015 season gets underway on Friday, Feb. 13. For the full release from Collegiate Baseball, visit:

ACC on the Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Teams

First Team
D.J. Stewart, OF, Florida St.
Kyle Funkhouser, RHP, Louisville
Zack Collins, C, Miami
Nathan Kirby, LHP, Virginia

Second Team
Chris Shaw, OF, Boston College
Andrew Suarez, LHP, Miami
Bryan Garcia, Relief, Miami
Brandon Waddell, LHP, Virginia
Joe McCarthy, OF, Virginia

Third Team
Steven Duggar, OF, Clemson
Trent Thornton, RHP, North Carolina
Reilly Hovis, Relief, North Carolina