Times & Networks Announced for Annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge

ACC/Big Ten Challenge closes out November

Bistol, Conn. & Greensboro, N.C. (ESPN) - The ACC/Big Ten Challenge early-season men’s basketball event will be played across ESPN networks showcasing every game beginning on Monday, Nov. 28 through Wednesday, Nov. 30.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will televise the 14 games of the 18th-annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge – including all Big Ten schools and all but one member from the ACC – to close out November.

ACC/Big Ten Challenge
Schedule highlights:
Two rematches from the 2015 Challenge, No. 17 Syracuse at No. 9 Wisconsin, who played to a 66-58 overtime Badger victory, and Ohio State at No. 7 Virginia, who defeated the Buckeyes 64-58
Four potential top-25 matchups: No. 17 Syracuse at No. 9 Wisconsin; No. 13 Michigan State at No. 1 Duke; No. 6 North Carolina at No. 8 Indiana and No. 16 Purdue at No. 5 Louisville. 
Seven games will have first-time Challenge matchups: Wake Forest-Northwestern; Pittsburgh-Maryland; NC State-Illinois; Virginia Tech-Michigan; Purdue-Louisville; Rutgers-Miami and Nebraska-Clemson.
Duke has won more Challenge games than any other team, taking 15-of-17 matchups with its only two losses coming to Wisconsin (2009) and Ohio State (2011). 

Team highlights:
A total of 10 teams – five from each conference – are ranked in Eamonn Brennan’s ESPN.com early preseason top 25 poll: No. 1 Duke; No. 5 Louisville; No. 6 North Carolina; No. 7 Virginia; No. 8 Indiana; No. 9 Wisconsin; No. 13 Michigan State; No. 14 Maryland; No. 16 Purdue and No. 17 Syracuse. 
Fourteen teams competed in the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship: NCAA runner-up North Carolina; Final Four team Syracuse; Elite Eight teams Notre Dame and Virginia; Sweet 16 teams Duke, Indiana, Maryland, Miami and Wisconsin, as well as early-round participants Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Pittsburgh and Purdue.
The Challenge field has nine players ranked in the top 25 of 2016 ESPN Recruiting Nation 100, including four of the top 10: No. 1 Harry Giles (PF, Duke); No. 3 Jayson Tatum (SF, Duke); No. 8 Miles Bridges (SF, Michigan State) and No. 10 Frank Jackson (PG, Duke).
Duke fields the No. 2-ranked incoming class, Michigan State stands at No. 3, Virginia is No. 8 and Florida State, North Carolina and Miami stand at No. 12, 13 and 14, respectively in the top 15 of the 2016 ESPN Recruiting Nation Class Rankings.

The Big Ten captured the Commissioner’s Cup in 2015 and 2014, winning eight of the 14 matchups both years. The two conferences split the previous two events, winning six Challenge games each in 2012 and 2013. The ACC won the first 10 Challenges (1999-2008), while the Big Ten won the next three (2009-2011). In the event of a tie, the Commissioner’s Cup remains with the conference that won the previous year. The ACC holds the 10-5-2 winning record in the previous 17 years.

2016 ACC/Big Ten Challenge schedule
DateTime (ET)MatchupNetwork
Mon, Nov 287 p.m.Minnesota at Florida StateESPNU
9 p.m.Wake Forest at NorthwesternESPNU
Tues, Nov 297 p.m.Pittsburgh at No. 14 MarylandESPN2
Georgia Tech at Penn StateESPNU
7:30 pm.No. 17 Syracuse at No. 9 WisconsinESPN
9 p.m.Iowa at Notre DameESPN2
NC State at IllinoisESPNU
9:30 p.m.No. 13 Michigan State at No. 1 DukeESPN
Wed, Nov 307 p.m.No. 16 Purdue at No. 5 LouisvilleESPN
Virginia Tech at MichiganESPN2
Rutgers at MiamiESPNU
9 p.m.No. 6 North Carolina at No. 8 IndianaESPN
Ohio State at No. 7 VirginiaESPN2
Nebraska at ClemsonESPNU