Three ACC Volleyball Teams Earn Bids to NCAA Tournament

ACC Champion North Carolina chosen as first/second round host

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Three Atlantic Coast Conference teams were selected to the 64-team field of the 2016 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship, which begins on December 1. Florida State and Pittsburgh will join North Carolina, who automatically qualified into the tournament as the conference champion. 

The seventh-seeded Tar Heels (27-3) will play regional host for first/second round matches. The ACC Champion will face-off against neighboring High Point (23-9) on December 3 at 6:30 p.m. The winner will face either James Madison (21-10) or Coastal Carolina (27-4). The ACC Champion finished conference play with a near-perfect 19-1 record, and will make their 18th NCAA tournament appearance. 

Florida State (24-5) will compete against Cincinnati (22-9) on Friday, Dec. 2 at 4:30 p.m. The winner will advance to play either host-Florida (26-3) or Alabama State (24-8) in the second round. This marks the Seminoles’ eighth straight appearance in the tournament.

Pittsburgh (24-8) will be making its 14th NCAA tournament appearance, and first since 2004. The Panthers face-off against Dayton (30-1) at 5 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 2. The winner will advance to take on either Penn State (22-9) or LIU Brooklyn (16-14) at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 3. 
First- and second-round matches will be played December 1-3 at 16 campus sites.  Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 9 and 10. Regionals for the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship will be held at four non-predetermined campus sites, which will be announced after play concludes, on December 3. At each site, four teams will compete in single-elimination regional semifinal competition. All regional semifinal matches will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final matches will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final co-hosted by the Ohio State University and the Greater Columbus Sports Commission at Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio on December 15 and 17. Both national semifinal matches as well as the championship match will be broadcast by ESPN2. All regional and championship site match times can be found on the attached championship bracket or online at