Thirteen ACC Players Selected in MLS SuperDraft

ACC leads with eight taken in first round

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Led by No. 1 overall pick Jack Harrison, 13 ACC men’s soccer players were taken in the Major League Soccer’s SuperDraft in Baltimore, Maryland, on Thursday afternoon. Eight players were selected in the first round, the most in league history, and the 13 ACC players taken in the first two rounds were the most from any conference.

Harrison, the 2015 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, was originally drafted No. 1 by the Chicago Fire, but was later traded to New York City FC. He is the seventh player in ACC men’s soccer history to be selected with the top overall pick and first in Demon Deacon history.

North Carolina’s Omar Holness (Real Salt Lake, 5th pick), Clemson’s Andrew Tarbell (San Jose Earthquakes, 8th) and North Carolina’s Jordan McCrary (New England Revolution, 10th) gave the league four of the first 10 picks in the draft.

Syracuse’s Julian Buescher (D.C. United, 11th), North Carolina’s Jonathan Campbell (Chicago Fire, 12th), Clemson’s Kyle Fisher (Montreal Impact, 14th) and Syracuse’s Ben Polk (Portland Timbers, 20th) rounded out the eight first round picks from the ACC.

Notre Dame’s Max Machowecki (Real Salt Lake, 25th) and Patrick Hodan (San Jose Earthquakes, 28th) led off the second round from the league, and were followed by Wake Forest’s Michael Gamble (New England Revolution, 30th), Clemson’s Paul Clowes (D.C. United, 32nd), and Duke’s Zach Mathers (Seattle Sounders FC, 35th).

Buescher, Harrison, Holness, and Tarbell had signed Generation adidas contracts with MLS last week.

The third and fourth rounds of the 2015 MLS SuperDraft will take place via conference call on January 19.

MLS SuperDraft
First Round
Chicago Fire (1) - Jack Harrison, M, Wake Forest
Real Salt Lake (5) - Omar Holness, M, North Carolina
San Jose Earthquakes (8) - Andrew Tarbell, GK, Clemson
New England Revolution (10) - Jordan McCrary, D, North Carolina
D.C. United (11) - Julian Buescher, M, Syracuse
Chicago Fire (12) - Jonathan Campbell, D, North Carolina
Montreal Impact (14) - Kyle Fisher, D, Clemson
Portland Timbers (20) - Ben Polk, F, Syracuse

Second Round
Real Salt Lake (25) - Max Machowecki, D, Notre Dame
San Jose Earthquakes (28) - Patrick Hodan, M, Notre Dame
New England Revolution (30) - Michael Gamble, F, Wake Forest
D.C. United (32) - Paul Clowes, M, Clemson
Seattle Sounders FC (35) - Zach Mathers, M, Duke