The Coalition to Protect and Improve the Student-Athlete Experience Responds to 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Decision in O’Bannon Case

31 Conferences Unite in One Statement.

Comment from ACC Commissioner John Swofford:
“We are pleased that the court reversed the prior decision related to $5,000 in deferred payments to student-athletes. The ACC has been very supportive, along with the Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC, in adopting a scholarship model that provides full cost of attendance, which officially began on August 1st.” 
A coalition representing 31 of the largest conferences in college sports issued the following statement in reaction to the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals’ ruling concerning the effort to compensate football and men’s basketball players beyond the value of their scholarship:
“We are pleased by the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals’ ruling in the O’Bannon case to the extent that it reversed the trial court’s ruling with respect to deferred payments to student athletes in the amount of $5000. The ruling concerning cost of attendance reflects a change in NCAA rules previously implemented for this academic year, as the Court noted.
There are other elements of this decision we agree with and others that leave us disappointed. The best way to help students be successful in college and in life is by providing an education that also includes benefits for our students who play sports, such as scholarships, healthcare, insurance and in many cases, the full cost of attendance.  
It’s important to remember that we’re talking about students, not employees. Our goal is for our students to learn teamwork and leadership through sports, and then graduate and be successful. We will review the details of the decision carefully.”
The 31 conferences of the CCA that are members of the coalition are the America East, American, Atlantic 10, Atlantic Coast, Atlantic Sun, Big 12, Big East, Big Sky, Big South, Big Ten, Big West, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Horizon League, Metro Atlantic Athletic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern Athletic, Missouri Valley, Mountain West, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Pac-12, Patriot League, Southeastern, Southern, Southland, Southwestern Athletic, Summit League, Sun Belt, West Coast and Western Athletic conferences.