Ten ACC Teams Set to Compete in NCAA Cross Country Championship Saturday

Syracuse, Louisville, Florida State capture regional titles in men’s competition
Virginia tops field in women’s Southeast Regional

GREENSBORO, N.C. (TheACC.com) -- The Atlantic Coast Conference will be well represented at this weekend’s NCAA Cross Country Championships, with six men’s teams and four women’s teams participating. The championships are set for Saturday, Nov. 21, at the E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Kentucky.

Syracuse, Louisville and Florida State earned automatic berths to the men’s championship after claiming regional titles while Virginia, NC State and Virginia Tech also earned berths in the 31-team field. 

The No. 2-ranked Orange, led by top-five finishers Justyn Knight (1st), Colin Bennie (2nd) and Martin Hehir (3rd), captured the Northeast Regional by 20 points over Providence. Louisville was paced by top-10 finishers Edwin Kibichiy (3rd) and Ernest Kibet (6th) en route to claiming the Southeast Regional title by a 19-point margin over Virginia.

Florida State’s Harry Mulenga finished third overall and the next four scoring Seminoles all placed within the top 16 as FSU edged Ole Miss, 58-62, for the South Regional title.

ACC teams qualifying for the women’s championship are Virginia, NC State, Notre Dame and Syracuse. The Cavaliers, paced by five top-15 performances, captured the Southeast Regional title by 21 points over NC State. Notre Dame and Syracuse each placed second at the Great Lakes and Northeast Regionals, respectively.

Individually, in addition to Syracuse’s Knight, Virginia Tech’s Thomas Curtin captured the Southeast Regional title while Notre Dame’s Molly Seidel and Anna Rohrer finished 1-2, respectively, at the Great Lakes Women’s Regional. Curtin and Seidel were the individual champions at the ACC Championships back on October 30.