Team Pairings, Tee Times Set for 2016 ACC Women’s Golf Championship

Ten Ranked Teams, Including Seven in the Top 40 Begin Play at Greensboro’s Sedgefield Country Club Friday

Greensboro, N.C. - The team pairings and tee times are set for the opening round of the 28th Annual ACC Women’s Golf Championship, which will be held Friday, Saturday and Sunday over the 6,089-yard, par 72 championship course at the Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro.

The tournament is making its eighth-straight appearance at Sedgefield, which also hosts the  PGA TOUR’s Wyndham Championship, and was the actual site of the formation of the ACC in 1953. There is no charge for admission.

Boston College, Virginia Tech and Clemson begin the championship on Friday teeing off at 8:00 a.m.  North Carolina, Wake Forest and Miami are next at 8:50 a.m., followed by Louisville, NC State and Notre Dame at 9:40 a.m. Defending conference champion Virginia, Duke and Florida State have the morning’s final tee time at 10:30 a.m.

8:00/8:40 a.m. Boston College, Virginia Tech, Clemson
8:50/9:30 a.m. North Carolina, Wake Forest, Miami
9:40/10:20 a.m. Louisville, NC State, Notre Dame
10:30/11:10 a.m. Florida State, Virginia, Duke

The fifth-ranked Blue Devils are seeking their fourth ACC title in five years and 20th overall, but will face stiff challenges from a 12-team field that also includes six other top 40 teams, including defending champion and 18th-ranked Virginia, No. 20 Florida State, Notre Dame (37), NC State (38), Louisville (39), Miami (40), Wake Forest (45), North Carolina (46), Clemson (47), Virginia Tech (101) and Boston College (158).

Duke is led by sophomore Leona Maguire, the nation’s eighth-ranked player. Two other Blue Devils are ranked in the top 55 nationally - senior Celine Boutier (30th) and freshman Virginia Elena Carta (54th).

In addition to the Duke trio, four other ACC individuals are currently ranked in the top 50 of the latest Golfstat rankings. Miami’s Daniela Darquea is ranked 11th, Virginia’s Laura Coughlin (34th), Louisville’s Laura Restrepo (48th) and Florida State’s Matilda Castren (49th).

Castren and Clemson freshman Alice Hewson lead the conference with two individual titles this season. Overall, 10 ACC golfers have won or tied for 12 individual titles.

A year ago, Virginia ran away from the field, posting a 27-under team score to capture the 2015 ACC Women’s Golf Championship. The title was the first in the history of Virginia’s program and the Cavaliers became the first league champion from outside the state of North Carolina.

On a day in which three of its golfers finished in the top five of the individual leaderboard, Virginia posted an all-time league record low team score of 837, which was 26 strokes better than second-place Duke and 29 strokes ahead of third-place finishers North Carolina, Wake Forest and Florida State.

Duke’s Leona Maguire earned the individual ACC championship with a second hole playoff victory over Virginia’s Briana Mao. The Cavan, Ireland, native shot a 206 en route to becoming the 17th Blue Devil to claim individual honors.

Led by Maguire and Virginia’s Lauren Coughlin and Lauren Diaz-Yi, seven of the top 10 finishers from the 2015 ACC championship return. Maguire is the reigning individual champion, while Coughlin and Diaz-Yi tied for fourth, four strokes off the pace. Coming in sixth was Duke’s Gurbani Singh at five-under, Virginia’s Lyberty Anderson was seventh at four-under while Florida State’s Lydia Gumm and Miami’s Darquea tied for eighth, two strokes under and eight strokes off the pace.