ACC Cross Country: Fox Named USTFCCCA National Coach of the Year

Syracuse, N.Y. ( - Following leading the team to its first National Championship since 1951, head coach Chris Fox has been named USTFCCA Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year. 

The 11th-year head coach of the Orange has built the team into a perennial contender, leading the squad to three-straight top-10 finishes at the NCAA Championships, when the Orange hadn't finished in the top-10 at nationals since 1957.

The Orange saw a program-record four student-athletes earn All-America honors this season, with Justyn Knight, Colin Bennie, Martin Hehir and Philo Germano earning the accolade for their top-40 individual performances at the championship meet.

Besides this year's NCAA Championship, Fox has guided the Orange to nine NCAA Northeast Regional Championships and six conference titles, with each serving as the only such honors in program history.

The squad that competed in the NCAA Championship for Fox this season went undefeated, winning the Coast-to-Coast Battle in Beantown and Wisconsin Adidas Invitational during the regular season as well.

In addition to Fox, Joe Franklin of New Mexico's NCAA Champion women's team won USTFCCCA Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year, while NCAA individual champions Edward Cheserek of Oregon and Molly Siedel of Notre Dame won the organization's men's and women's athlete of the year honors respectively.