Swofford Named to NFF Board of Directors

ACC has previously been recognized with the 2007 NFF Legacy Award

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford has been named to the Board of the Directors of the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Football Hall of Fame, Inc.

Swofford will serve through Dec. 31, 2018, with the opportunity to be reappointed for additional terms.

“I’m honored to join the National Football Foundation Board,” Swofford said. “Football has had a tremendous impact on my life and I look forward to working with the board to both celebrate and grow the sport.”

Swofford, now in his 19th year as ACC Commissioner, played football at both the high school and collegiate levels. He has previously served as president of the NCAA Football Board of Directors (2004-05), as a member of the College Football Officiating, LLC Board of Managers (2008-12) and was the only Commissioner to serve two terms as BCS Coordinator (2000-01 and 2008-09).

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame was founded in 1947 with a mission to preserve the past, promote the present, prepare for the future and protect the game of amateur football. In addition to its current involvement with the College Football Playoff, the NFF has a long history of promoting the game through postgraduate scholarships, awards recognitions and grassroots level initiatives to promote the role of football in the development of youth.

A total of 94 players and coaches with ties to current ACC schools are College Football Hall of Fame inductees. Three former players– most recently Duke’s David Helton in 2014 – have received the NFF’s William V. Campbell Trophy, the “Academic Heisman” awarded annually since 1990 to the American Football Player with the best combination of academics, community service, and on-field performance.

In December of 2007, the Atlantic Coast Conference received the NFF’s inaugural Legacy Award, which honors individuals and institutions who have made extraordinary contributions to the National Football Foundation and its mission of building leaders through football.