ACC Collects 14 AVCA East Region Team Volleyball Honors

Dec. 6, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes swept the 2011 All-East Region Team with fourteen student-athletes representing seven ACC schools being recognized by the American Volleyball Coaches Association, announced today by the AVCA. In addition, the league had three student-athletes garner honorable mention. Also receiving honors was Florida State’s Chris Poole, who was named the East Region Coach of the Year.

Poole, who is finishing his fourth season as head coach of the Seminoles, has his team in the Sweet 16 this season for the second time in the last three years. The 2011 ACC Coach of the Year led Florida State to a 26-6 record overall and 18-2 in conference play to win the conference title.

Duke, Florida State, and Miami all had three players apiece on the All-East Region Team. Duke’s Ali McCurdy, the 2011 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, is joined by teammates Kellie Catanach and Christiana Gray. Visnja Djurdjevic, Ashley Neff, and Jekaterina Stepanova are the representatives from Florida State. The 2011 ACC Player of the Year, Miami’s Lane Carico, earned her fourth career AVCA East Region Team accolade and is joined by teammates Ali Becker and Katie Gallagher.

North Carolina had two student-athletes represented with Kaylie Gibson and Emily McGee being named to the team. Clemson’s Sandra Adeleye, Georgia Tech’s Monique Mead, and Virginia Tech’s Cara Baarendse round out the ACC representatives on the All-East Region Team.

The ACC student-athletes who earned All-East Region Honorable Mention were North Carolina’s Chaniel Nelson and Clemson’s Alexa Rand and Serenat Yaz.

The full AVCA release can be found at

ACC on the 2011 American Volleyball Coaches Association All-East Region

Name School Year Position
Sandra Adeleye*** Clemson Jr. MB
Kellie Catanach*** Dukr Sr. S
Christiana Gray** Duke Jr. MB
Ali McCurdy Duke So. Libero
Visnja Djurddevic*** Florida State Sr. OH
Ashley Neff Florida State So. MB
Jekaterina Stepanova Florida State Sr. OH
Monique Mead** Georgia Tech Jr. RS/Opp
Ali Becker Miami Sr. MB
Lane Carico**** Miami Sr. OH
Katie Gallagher** Miami Sr. S
Kaylie Gibson** North Carolina Sr. Libero
Emily McGee North Carolina Jr. OH
Cara Baarendse** Virginia Tech Jr. MB

** - denotes two-time honoree

*** - denotes three-time honoree

****-denotes four-time honoree

ACC Receiving 2011 American Volleyball Coaches Association All-East Region Honorable Mention

Chaniel Nelson North Carolina RS-Fr. RS/Opp
Alexa Rand Clemson Jr. MB
Serenat Yaz Clemson Jr. OH

East Region Coach of the Year: Chris Poole, Florida State