Four ACC Volleyball Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Bids

Nov. 25, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Four Atlantic Coast Conference volleyball teams earned bids to the 2012 Division I NCAA Women’s Volleyball Championship, the NCAA Volleyball Selection Committee announced today. Florida State was named as the No. 9 overall seed and will host first and second round action, while North Carolina, Miami, and NC State will begin tournament play on the road. The first and second rounds will take place Thursday-Saturday, Nov. 29-Dec. 1.

Florida State (27-3, 18-2 ACC), the two-time defending ACC champion, will begin postseason play by hosting Hofstra at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 30.  The Seminoles, led by ACC Player of the Year Ashley Neff, are making their 15th tournament appearance, where they are 9-14. With a victory on Friday, Florida State would advance to the second round and face either Colorado State or Purdue. This is the fourth consecutive tournament bid and third overall national seed for the Seminoles, who reached the national semifinals last year.

Miami (25-5, 17-3) will be making its fourth straight postseason trip when it takes on the College of Charleston in the first round on Friday at 5 p.m. in Gainesville, Fla.  The Hurricanes, led by ACC Coach of the Year Nicole Lantagne Welch and a conference-record six All-ACC players, are ranked No. 23 in the AVCA Poll and would face the winner of Tulsa and No. 14 Florida if they defeat the Cougars. Miami is 3-4 in the NCAA Championship and advanced to the second round in 2011. 

24th-ranked North Carolina (25-5, 16-4) will face a familiar opponent in the first round as it will travel to Ames, Iowa, to take on California on Thursday, Nov. 29, at 6 p.m., with the winner advancing to face either No. 15 Iowa State or IPFW. The two teams have met in the tournament the previous two years with California taking a 3-0 decision in the second round in 2010 and North Carolina getting revenge last year, 3-2, in the first round. The Tar Heels are led by All-ACC honorees Chaniel Nelson and Emily McGee and the ACC Freshman of the Year, Paige Neuenfeldt. This is the 14th overall tournament appearance and third straight for North Carolina, which is 8-13 in previous trips.


NC State (22-9, 12-8) set a program record for ACC wins this season and will be making the second tournament appearance in school history. The Wolfpack will travel to Austin, Texas, to face Texas A&M on Thursday, Nov. 29, at 5 p.m., with the winner advancing to play either No. 3 Texas or Colgate. NC State, led by senior setter Megan Cyr, is making its first postseason appearance since 1987.

The four regional sites will be held at West Lafayette, Ind., Omaha, Neb., Austin, Texas, and Berkeley, Calif., on Dec. 7-8. All of the regional semifinals will be streamed live on ESPN3, and the finals will be carried by ESPNU. The national semifinals on Dec. 13 and final on Dec. 15 will be televised by ESPN2 and held in Louisville, Ky., at the KFC Yum! Center.

Thursday, Nov. 29 – Friday, Nov. 30
At Austin, Texas

NC State (22-9)
vs. Texas A&M (24-5), 5 p.m.
No. 3 Texas (23-4) vs. Colgate (17-13), 8 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 29 – Friday, Nov. 30
At Ames, Iowa

North Carolina (25-5
) vs. California (15-15), 6 p.m.
No. 15 Iowa State (20-7) vs. IPFW (25-6), 8:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 30 - Saturday, Dec. 1
At Tallahassee, Fla.

Colorado St. (21-7) vs. Purdue (21-10), 4:30 p.m.
Florida State (27-3)
vs. Hofstra (21-13), 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 30 - Saturday, Dec. 1
At Gainesville, Fla.

Miami (25-5
) vs. College of Charleston (26-7), 5 p.m.
No. 14 Florida (25-4) vs. Tulsa (26-9), 7:30 p.m.