2011 ACC Annual Volleyball Honors Announced

Nov. 23, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Miami senior outside hitter Lane Carico has been selected as the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Player of the Year and headlines the 2011 All-ACC Volleyball Team. Duke sophomore libero Ali McCurdy has been named the Defensive Player of the Year, and Florida State's Chris Poole was named the Coach of the Year. North Carolina middle blocker Cameron Van Noy was chosen as the Freshman of the Year and headlines the six-person All-Freshman Team.

Carico, a native of Manhattan Beach, Calif., becomes the first Miami volleyball player in history to win the ACC Player of the Year award. In 2011, Carico tallied 3.56 kills per set, fourth in the league, and had 4.11 digs per set which ranked her ninth in the league. The 2008 ACC Freshman of the Year led her team to a 24-4 record and 15-4 mark in conference play. The Hurricanes led the league in hitting percentage and digs, and ranked in the top ten nationally in assists, digs, and kills per set. This is her fourth career ACC postseason honor after being named to the All-Freshman Team in 2008 and All-ACC the previous two years.

McCurdy led the conference in digs with 5.71 per set, the 11th highest mark in the nation. The Tampa, Fla., native becomes just the third student-athlete to win the Defensive Player of the Year award after its inception in 2009. In her first year in the league in 2010, McCurdy was named to both the All-ACC and All-Freshman Teams.

Van Noy is the first Tar Heel to win Freshman of the Year honors since Amy Peistrup was named the ACC Rookie of the Year in 1989. Van Noy helped her team to a record of 22-8 and 14-5 in conference play and tallied 1.28 blocks per set, the fourth highest rate in the conference. The native of Huntersville, N.C., also averaged 1.49 kills per set.

Poole picks up his second career Coach of the Year award in just his fourth season at Florida State after leading the Noles (24-5, 18-1 ACC) to their third conference championship and second in the last three years. He is the second FSU coach to win the award after Cecile Reynaud won it in 1992 and then again in 2000. The Seminoles will be competing in their third straight NCAA Tournament and 14th overall.

Nine different teams are represented on the All-ACC Team. Five schools - Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Miami, and North Carolina - all had three picks apiece. Georgia Tech, NC State, Virginia Tech, and Wake Forest had one player honored.

Joining Van Noy on the All-Freshman team are Duke's Jeme Obeime, Florida State's Sarah Wickstrom, Maryland's Adreene Elliott, NC State's Dariyan Hopper, and Wake Forest's Danae Rosendall.

The season wraps up Wednesday night for six teams as they play their final conference matches. Virginia Tech at Virginia on Friday night and Florida State at Miami on Saturday are the last two ACC matches before the NCAA announces its field of 64 for the 2011 NCAA Volleyball Championship. The selection show will air Sunday, Nov. 27 at 6 p.m. on ESPNU.

2011 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards

Player of the Year - Lane Carico, Miami

Defensive Player of the Year - Ali McCurdy, Duke

Freshman of the Year - Cameron Van Noy, North Carolina

Coach of the Year - Chris Poole, Florida State

2011 All-ACC Team

Player Year Pos. School
Alexa Rand Jr. MH Clemson
Sandra Adeleye Jr. MH Clemson
Serenat Yaz Jr. OH Clemson
Ali McCurdy So. DS/L Duke
Christiana Gray Jr. MB Duke
Kellie Catanach Sr. S Duke
Ashley Neff So. MB Florida State
Jekaterina Stepanova Sr. OH Florida State
Visnja Djurdjevic Sr. OH Florida State
Monique Mead Jr. RS Georgia Tech
Ali Becker Sr. MB Miami
Katie Gallagher Sr. S Miami
Lane Carico Sr. OH Miami
Margaret Salata Sr. MB NC State
Chaniel Nelson Fr. OPP North Carolina
Emily McGee Jr. OH North Carolina
Kaylie Gibson Sr. L North Carolina
Cara Baarendse Jr. MB Virginai Tech
Andrea Beck Jr. MB Wake Forest

2011 ACC All-Freshman Team

Player Pos. School
Jeme Obeime OH Duke
Sarah Wickstrom S Florida State
Adreene Elliot MB. Maryland
Dariyan Hopper OH NC State
Cameron Van Noy MB North Carolina
Danae Rosendall S Wake Forest