ACC Announces 2010 All-ACC Academic Volleyball Team

Feb. 25, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Duke junior Sophia Dunworth, a middle blocker/outside hitter, has been honored as the 2010 ACC Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford. She headlines the 30-member 2010 All-ACC Academic Volleyball team, which includes eight All-ACC honorees, three ACC All-Freshman team selections and five AVCA All-America honorable mention recipients.

Dunworth guided Duke to its third ACC Championship in five years and an NCAA Regional Final appearance in 2010, making the Blue Devils just the third ACC team to advance that far in the national tournament. The run was a program best, and Duke finished the season ranked No. 18 in the AVCA poll. Dunworth tallied a team-high 50 kills in the tournament en route to NCAA Regional All-Tournament Team honors. The Pleasanton, Calif., native led the team with 1,024 attacks, while finishing the season second on the team in kills with a career-best 360. Dunworth averaged 3.56 kills for every error, recording the second-best ratio on the team. She registered double-digit kills in 21 of Duke's 34 matches and ended the season on a five-match streak of 10-plus kills. Dunworth became just the fourth player in program history to earn ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District III honors twice in her career.

Georgia Tech middle blocker Asia Stawicka and Maryland middle/right side hitter Brittney Grove joined Dunworth as three-time honorees. Stawicka, a junior from Warsaw, Poland, ranked sixth in the league in hitting percentage with a .337 clip and was also sixth in blocks, averaging 1.09 per set. Grove, a senior from Glen Allen, Va., ranked second on the team in both total blocks (111) and service aces (29). Additionally, eleven student-athletes earned their second All-ACC Academic Team recognition.

All 12 conference schools were represented on the 2010 All-ACC Academic Volleyball Team, led by Duke with five selections, followed by Maryland with four. Florida State and Georgia Tech each had three student-athletes honored. Boston College, Clemson, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest each garnered two recognitions, while Virginia had one.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 and is awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in his/her respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his/her academic career.

2010 All-ACC Academic Volleyball Team

Name Yr. Pos. School Major
Kristen Baader @ Sr. L/OH Boston College Biology
Tsvetelina Dureva Jr. OH Boston College Communication
Natalie Patzin @ So. OH Clemson Biological Engineering
Alexa Rand So. MH Clemson Special Education
Becci Burling ^ Sr. MB Duke Psychology/Biological Anthropology
Sophia Dunworth !# Jr. MB/OH Duke Biology
Christiana Gray @^ So. MB Duke Undeclared
Ali McCurdy ^* Fr. DS/L Duke Undeclared
Amanda Robertson @^ Jr. MB Duke Psychology
Stephanie Neville @^ Sr. OH Florida State Finance/Marketing
Jenna Romanelli @ Sr. L/DS Florida State Exercise Science/Dietetics
Taylor Wilson Sr. L/DS Florida State Interior Design
Jordan McCullers @ Sr. L/DS Georgia Tech Management
Jennifer Percy Fr. OH Georgia Tech Management
Asia Stawicka # Jr. MB Georgia Tech Management
Mary Cushman * Fr. OH Maryland Undeclared
Brittney Grove # Sr. M/RS Maryland Marketing/Communication
Lisa Scott Jr. MB Maryland Criminology/Criminal Justice
Bethany Springer @ Sr. L Maryland Mechanical Engineering
Katie Gallagher Jr. S Miami Sports Administration
Alexandria Johnson Fr. OH/RS Miami Business
Shelby Bleke Jr. MH North Carolina Journalism & Mass Communcation
Courtney Johnston ^ Sr. OH/RS North Carolina Communication Studies
Megan Cyr Jr. S NC State Communications
Luciana Shafer Jr. OH NC State Business Management
A.J. Cushman @ Sr. DS Virginia Kinesiology
Cara Baarendse @^ So. MB Virginia Tech Human Development
Jennifer Wiker,/td> Jr. OH Virginia Tech Finance
Andrea Beck @^ So. MB Wake Forest Biology
Carlin Salmon Jr. MB Wake Forest Communication