Miami's Eichkorn Leads 2010 Women's Tennis All-ACC Academic Team

July 7, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Miami junior Bianca Eichkorn has been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s 2010 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

Eichkorn, an International Finance and Marketing major from Tengen, Germany, was a third-team 2010 Academic All-America selection by ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA and is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Tennis Team. Eichkorn has been named to the ACC Academic Honor Roll twice and is eligible to be included again this year. Her honors at Miami include two-time selection to the Provost’s Honor Roll, six-time membership on the Dean’s List and six-time inclusion on the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll.

On the courts, Eichkorn earned ITA All-America and All-ACC honors in 2010 while posting a 31-5 overall record and a 23-0 dual match record. Eichkorn finished 11-0 vs. fellow ACC opposition and ranks seventh all-time at Miami in career wins.

Eichkorn is joined on the 2010 Women’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team by fellow ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA All-American Martha Blakely of Virginia Tech. Eichkorn and Blakely are two of 10 members of this year’s All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team that have received the honor on at least one prior occasion. That list includes four-time honoree Laura Vallverdu of Miami and three-time honorees Eichkorn, Ina Hadziselimovic of Clemson, Reka Zsilinszka of Duke, Katie Rybakova of Florida State, Katrina Tsang of North Carolina and Sasha Kulikova of Wake Forest.

Twelve members of the Women’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team were also 2010 All-ACC selections. Miami’s Eichkorn, Vallverdu and Gabriela Mejia; Clemson’s Hadziselimovic and Duke’s Ellah Nze also earned ITA All-America honors this past season.

To be eligible for consideration for All-Academic Team honors, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2010 Women’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team
Name, School Year Major
***Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson Sr. Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management
*Amanda Granson, Duke Sr. History
Ellah Nze, Duke Jr. History
Elizabeth Plotkin, Duke Sr. Political Science
***Reka Zsilinszka, Duke Jr. History
***Katie Rybakova, Florida State Jr. English Education
Jessica Sucupira, Florida State Sr. Hospitality
Lynn Blau, Georgia Tech So. Industrial Engineering
Elizabeth Kilborn, Georgia Tech Fr. Biology
Anna Bartenstein, Miami So. Marketing
***#Bianca Eichkorn, Miami Jr. International Finance/Marketing
Gabriela Mejia, Miami So. International Finance/Marketing
****Laura Vallverdu, Miami Sr. Psychology
Zoe De Bruycker, North Carolina Fr. Business Administration
Shinann Featherston, North Carolina So. Exercise & Sport Science/Political Science
*Sophie Grabinski, North Carolina Sr. Communication Studies
***Katrina Tsang, North Carolina Sr. Political Science/Philosophy
Sandhya Nagaraj, NC State So. Sport Management
Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia So. Spanish
*#Martha Blakely, Virginia Tech So. Biochemistry/Chemistry/Mathematics
***Sasha Kulikova, Wake Forest Sr. Mathematical Economics/Psychology
Martina Pavelec, Wake Forest Jr. Communication/Economics
2010 Women’s Tennis ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Bianca Eichkorn, Miami
*Repeat All-ACC Academic Team Selection
***Three-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection
****Four-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection
# - ESPN The Magazine/CoSida Academic All-America Third Team