Miami's Eichkorn Leads All-ACC Academic Women's Tennis Team

June 23, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Miami senior Bianca Eichkorn has been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second straight season and heads up the sport’s 2011 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Eichkorn, a native of Tengen, Germany, was earlier named the ACC Player of the Year after going unbeaten in conference singles play, with all but one of those wins coming in straight sets. Eichkorn closed her career with a 38-3 overall record in ACC matches, including wins in her final 21 matches against league opposition. An All-American at singles and doubles and the winningest singles player in Miami school history, Eichkorn finished the season ranked No. 5 nationally in singles play and teamed with Anna Bartenstein for a No. 4 ranking in doubles.

Academically, Eichkorn is a six-time member of the Dean’s List and has been named to the UM Provost’s Honor Roll three times. The international finance and marketing major is an eight-time member of Miami’s Athletic Director Honor Roll and has earned ACC Academic Honor Roll recognition three times.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a minimum 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

The 2011 All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team features six student athletes who also earned All-America honors this season – Miami’s Eichkorn and Bartenstein, North Carolina’s Zoe De Bruycker, Shinann Featherston and Lauren McHale, and Virginia’ Lindsey Hardenbergh.

The All-ACC Academic Team also includes 12 student-athletes who were All-ACC selections and 14 that have earned All-ACC Academic honors on at least one previous occasion. Eichkorn, Duke’s Reka Zsilinszka and Florida State’s Katie Rybakova were each named to the team for the fourth time.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during her academic career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team
Name, School Year Major
Katarina Gajic, Boston College Jr. Economics
Caroline Magnusson, Clemson So. Pre-Business
**Ellah Nze, Duke Sr. History
**Elizabeth Plotkin, Duke Sr. History & Political Science
****Reka Zsilinszka, Duke Sr. History
****Katie Rybakova, Florida State Sr. English Education
**Noemie Scharle, Florida State So. Hospitality Management
Federica Suess, Florida State Sr. Hospitality Management
**Lynn Blau, Georgia Tech Jr. Industrial Engineering
Caroline Lilley, Georgia Tech Jr. Management
Viet Ha (Christina) Ngo, Georgia Tech Jr. Economics & International Affairs
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Maryland Jr. Letters & Sciences
Jordaan Sanford, Maryland Fr. Letters & Sciences
**Anna Bartenstein, Miami Jr. Marketing
****Bianca Eichkorn, Miami Sr. International Finance & Marketing
**Gabriela Mejia, Miami Jr. International Finance & Marketing
**Zoe De Bruycker, North Carolina So. Business Administration
**Shinann Featherston, North Carolina Jr. Exercise & Sports Science
Lauren McHale, North Carolina So. Journalism & Mass Communication
Sanaa Bhambri, NC State Gr. Business Administration
**Sandhya Nagaraj, NC State Jr. Sport Management
Emily Fraser, Virginia Jr. Kinesiology
**Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia Jr. Spanish
Caryssa Peretz, Virginia Fr. Undeclared
***Martha Blakely, Virginia Tech Jr. Chemistry & Biochemistry
Yasmin Hamza, Virginia Tech Sr. Interior Design
**Martina Pavelec, Wake Forest Sr. Economics & Communication
ACC Women’s Tennis 2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Bianca Eichkorn, Miami
** Repeat All-ACC Academic Team Selection
***Three-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection
**** Four-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection