North Carolina's Kalbas Named National Coach Of The Year

June 16, 2010

SKILLMAN, N.J. --- The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the Wilson/ITA National Coaches of the Year for NCAA Division I tennis Wednesday, with North Carolina's Brian Kalbas honored as the women's recipient and Peter Smith of Southern California named the top men's head coach. For Kalbas, the national honor is his second, joining the 1998 award he earned while at William & Mary.

Kalbas led UNC to one of the most successful seasons in program history. The Tar Heels spent five weeks ranked No. 1 in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, made the finals of the ITA Women's Team Indoor Championship and completed the first 11-0 regular season in ACC history. Additionally, Carolina advanced to the NCAA semifinals for the first time.

Kalbas, who earlier this spring was the first Carolina head coach to be named Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year, is a six-time ITA regional coach of the year. Prior to arriving in Chapel Hill, Kalbas led William & Mary to nine Colonial Athletic Association titles in 11 years and earned regional coaching honors four times. He was named national coach of the year in 1998 after taking the Tribe to the national quarterfinals.

Wilson, the Official Tennis Racquet Company, Tennis Ball and Stringing Accessory Company of the ITA, has been the ITA's title sponsor of the ITA Coach of the Year since the awards' inception in 1973.