ITA Recognizes Regional Award Winners

May 17, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - Numerous Atlantic Coast Conference women’s tennis student-athletes and coaches were honored with ITA Regional Awards.

The ACC, which has eight teams ranked in the ITA Top 25, boasted three region Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year honorees, including Virginia’s Mark Guilbeau (Atlantic), Clemson’s Nancy Harris (Carolina) and Miami’s Paige Yaroshuk-Tews (Southeast).

North Carolina’s Sara Anundsen and Miami’s Alex Santos were named the Carolina and Southeast Region Assistant Coaches of the Year, respectively.

Seven student-athletes representing six institutions collected individual honors, including ACC Player of the Year Gina Suarez-Malaguti of North Carolina and ACC Freshman of the Year Julia Elbaba of Virginia, who picked up the Carolina Region Senior of the Year and Atlantic Region Rookie of the Year accolades, respectively. UNC’s Whitney Kay (Carolina) and Miami’s Stephanie Wagner (Southeast) also collected region Rookie of the Year honors.

Clemson sophomore Yana Koroleva was named the Carolina Region’s Player to Watch, while Florida State’s Amy Sargeant (Southeast) and Duke’s Mary Clayton (Carolina) earned the Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship.

The ACC celebrated another banner women’s tennis season as it saw North Carolina win the ITA Indoor Championship, Miami win its first ACC Championship in program history, eight teams selected to the NCAA Women’s Team Tennis Championship, and 11 singles and two doubles teams earn bids to the NCAA Championship Singles and Doubles fields.


Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year

Atlantic – Mark Guilbeau, Virginia

Carolina – Nancy Harris, Clemson

Southeast – Paige Yaroshuk-Tews, Miami


Assistant Coach of the Year

Carolina – Sara Anundsen, North Carolina

Southeast – Alex Santos, Miami


Senior of the Year

Carolina – Gina Suarez – Malaguti, North Carolina


Player to Watch

Carolina – Yana Koroleva, Clemson


Rookie of the Year

Atlantic – Julia Elbaba, Virginia

Carolina – Whitney Kay, North Carolina 

Southeast – Stephanie Wagner, Miami


Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship

Carolina – Mary Clayton, Duke

Southeast – Amy Sargeant, Florida State