2010 NCAA Women's Tennis Singles Field to Feature 11 from ACC

May 6, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Georgia Tech’s Irina Falconi is the No. 1 seed for the upcoming NCAA Women’s Tennis Singles Championship and will be joined by 10 other Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes in the 64-member field.

Five ACC teams were also among the 32 among the field that will compete for the NCAA Women’s Doubles Championship.

The individual singles and doubles championships will be held at the University of Georgia’s Dan MacGill Tennis Complex following the NCAA Team Championships. Competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 26, and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 31.

The ACC Player of the Year and the Most Valuable Player of the 2010 ACC Championship, Falconi has been ranked No.1 nationally throughout the season and will carry a 20-match winning streak into NCAA play.

Joining Falconi as a nationally-seeded representative from the ACC will be No. 8 Laura Vallverdu of Miami, the 2009 NCAA singles runner-up.

Clemson’s Josipa Bek, Duke’s Ellah Nze and Reka Zsilinszka, Florida State’s Lauren McCreless, Miami’s Bianca Eichkorn. North Carolina’s Sanaz Marand and Katrina Tsang, Virginia’s Lindsey Hardenbergh and Wake Forest’s Martina Pavelec were additional at-large selections. Each of those players are listed among the top 57 of the most recent ITA singles rankings.

The ACC will be bidding for its fourth straight ACC singles women’s championship after seeing Duke’s Mallory Cecil win the title last season, Georgia Tech’s Andrea McDowell prevail in 2008 and Miami’s Audra Cohen claim the crown in 2007.

Vallverdu and Gabriela Mejia, currently ranked sixth nationally, were awarded the ACC’s automatic berth in the doubles team competition. They will be joined in the doubles field by Clemson’s Bek and Ina Hadziselimovic, Georgia Tech’s Falconi and Sasha Krupina, North Carolina’s Marand and Sophie Grabinski, and Wake Forest’s Sasha Kulikova and Kathryn Talbert.

The ACC will also be well-represented in the team competition, which gets under way on May 14. No. 2 seed North Carolina, No. 9 Clemson, No. 10 Duke, No. 11 Miami, No. 14 Georgia Tech and No. 15 Florida State all earned national seeds, and Virginia was also selected to give the ACC seven representatives among the 64-team field.

Below is a complete list of ACC student-athletes who will be competing in the NCAA Division I singles and doubles championship tournaments.

ACC Automatic Qualifier
Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech

At-large selections, listed alphabetically by last name:
Josipa Bek, Clemson
Bianca Eichkorn, Miami
Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia
Sanaz Marand, North Carolina
Lauren McCreless, Florida State
Ellah Nze, Duke
Martina Pavelec, Wake Forest
Katrina Tsang, North Carolina
Laura Vallverdu, Miami
Reka Zsilinszka, Duke

Seeds 1-8:
1. Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech
8. Laura Vallverdu, Miami

ACC Automatic Qualifier
Gabriele Mejia/Laura Vallverdu, Miami

At-large selections, listed alphabetically by institution:
Josipa Bek/Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson
Irina Falconi/Sasha Krupina, Georgia Tech
Sophie Grabinski/Sanaz Marand, North Carolina
Sasha Kulikova/Kathryn Talbert, Wake Forest

Doubles Alternates:
Ina Hadziselimovic*/ Keri Wong, Clemson
Katrina Tsang/ Shinann Featherston, North Carolina
Amanda Granson /llah Nze, Duke
Bianca Eichkorn/Anna Bartenstein, Miami

* If a student-athlete would have been selected to the championship with two different partners, that student-athlete has the ability to be an alternate in the draw with the other partner. This only comes into play if the student-athlete not listed on both teams is unable to participate.

Seeds 5-8, listed alphabetically by institution:
Josipa Bek/Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson
Gabriela Mejia/Laura Vallverdu, Miami