Twelve Singles, Seven Doubles to Represent ACC Women's Tennis

May 3, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Twelve Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes will be among the 64 competitors in the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Singles Championships, to be held May 23-28 at the University of Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga.

ACC Player and Freshman of the Year Beatrice Capra of Duke received the conference's automatic berth and was awarded a No. 2 national seed. Georgia Tech's Jillian McNeill earned one of eight 9-16 seeds.

Also selected to the field were Clemson's Keri Wong, Duke's Hanna Mar, Maryland's Cristina Stancu, Miami's Anna Bartenstein and Gabriela Mejia-Mateus, North Carolina's Zoe De Bruycker and Lauren McHale, NC State's Joelle Kissell and Virginia's Emily Fraser and Lindsey Hardenbergh. In addition, Duke's Mary Clayton was selected as the sixth singles alternate.

Seven ACC tandems are among the 32-team doubles field, led by automatic qualifier and third-seeded McHale and Shinann Featherston of North Carolina. Also chosen were Clemson's Wong and Josipa Bek, Duke's teams of Capra and Rachel Kahan, and Clayton and Ester Goldfeld, along with Georgia Tech's O'Neill and Alex Anghelescu, Miami's Liat Zimmerman and Melissa Bolivar, and Virginia's Hardenbergh and Fraser.

Maryland's Ana Belzunce and Welma Luus were chosen as the third doubles alternates. Virgina's Fraser and Li Xi are the No. 4 alternates, and Duke's Capra and Goldfeld earned the sixth doubles alternate spot.

The individual singles and doubles championships will be held at Georgia following the NCAA Team Championships, which are set to conclude on May 22. The ACC will also be well-represented in the NCAA women's team competition, which gets under way on May 11. Second-seeded Duke, seventh-seeded North Carolina, 10th-seeded Miami and No. 14 Virginia will compete as national seeds, along with Clemson, Florida State and Georgia Tech.

Below is a complete list of ACC student-athletes who will be competing in the NCAA Division I singles and doubles championship tournaments (numbers indicate national seeding).

Beatrice Capra, Duke (Automatic qualifier; No. 2)
Jillian O'Neill, Georgia Tech (No. 9-16)
Keri Wong, Clemson
Hanna Mar, Duke
Cristina Stancu, Maryland
Anna Bartenstein, Miami
Gabriela Mejia-Mateus, Miami
Zoe DeBruycker, North Carolina
Lauren McHale, North Carolina
Joelle Kissell, NC State
Emily Fraser, Virginia
Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia
Singles alternate: 6. Mary Clayton, Duke

Lauren McHale-Shinann Featherston, North Carolina (Automatic qualifier; No. 3)
Keri Wong-Josipa Bek, Clemson
Beatrice Capra-Rachel Kahan, Duke
Mary Clayton-Ester Goldfeld, Duke
Jillian O'Neill-Alex Angelhescu, Georgia Tech
Liat Zimmerman-Melissa Bolivar, Miami
Emily Fraser-Lindsey Hardenberg, Virginia
Doubles alternates: 3. Ana Belzunce-Welma Luus, Maryland; 4. Emily Fraser-Li Xi, Virginia; 6. Beatrice Capra-Ester Goldfeld, Duke