ACC Places Nine Teams in NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

May 3, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - A league record-tying nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams, including seven of the 16 national seeds, will participate in the 2011 NCAA Women's Tennis Championship.

No. 3-seeded Duke, No. 4 North Carolina, No. 7 Miami, No. 11 Virginia, No. 12 Florida State, No. 14 Georgia Tech, No. 15 Clemson, NC State and Maryland were among the 64-team field announced early Tuesday evening.

Duke, UNC, Miami, Virginia and Georgia Tech will be hosts for the first and second rounds when the tournament gets under way Friday, May 13. The nine ACC teams earning spots in the 2011 NCAA Tournament field leads all conferences and matches the league high first set in 2006 and matched in 2007.

This marks the 12th straight year - and the 13th in the last 14 - that the ACC has placed at least five representatives in the NCAA women's field. Seven conference teams were selected last year, and eight earned berths in both 2008 and 2009.

The 64-team NCAA Tournament opens the weekend of May 13-15 with the first two rounds. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will be held at Stanford University from May 19-24.

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held at Stanford following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 25 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 30. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced Wednesday evening.

First-round matchups include ACC regular-season first-place finisher Duke (22-4) playing host to Richmond (14-5). ACC champion North Carolina (23-5) opens at home with a first-round date with East Tennessee State (15-6).

Miami (18-6) is set to play host to Florida International (13-6). Virginia (18-7) welcomes Army (13-11). Georgia Tech (13-10) opens at home against Jacksonville State (13-10).

No. 12 Florida State (15-8) will travel to face Southern (12-9) in an opening-round match at College Station, Texas. Clemson (19-10) faces Wichita State (17-9). Meanwhile, Maryland (13-9) faces Washington (12-10) in a first-round match at Chapel Hill, N.C. and could face host North Carolina in the second round if both ACC teams advance. NC State (15-8) faces VCU (19-5) at Charlottesville, Va., setting up another potential ACC second-round matchup between the Wolfpack and host Virginia.

Duke will be appearing in the NCAA field for the 23rd consecutive season. Miami is in the tournament for the 16th straight year and is hosting a regional for the seventh consecutive time. The Hurricanes will be playing in their 27th NCAA Tournament overall.

Clemson is set to make its 19th postseason appearance. Florida State will be taking part in NCAA play for the 15th time and the fifth straight year. North Carolina is making its 13th straight NCAA appearance and Georgia Tech its 12th. Virginia is also making its 12th overall NCAA appearance, and its third straight. Maryland is appearing in the tournament for the sixth time and the first since 2006. NC State earned its fifth NCAA berth and first since 2008.