Seven ACC Teams Earn Spots In Women's Tennis NCAAs

May 1, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference champion Duke received the No. 3 overall seed and will lead a group of seven league teams in the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships, which get under way May 11.

No. 7 North Carolina, No. 10 Miami and No. 14 Virginia joined Duke as national seeds, and Clemson, Florida State and Georgia Tech were also among the 64-team field announced early Tuesday evening. All seven teams are among the nation’s Top 35 in the most recent ITA rankings.

Duke, UNC, Miami and Virginia will be hosts for the first and second rounds. This marks the 13th straight year - and the 14th in the last 15 - that the ACC has placed at least five representatives in the NCAA women's field. A record-tying nine teams were selected in 2011. Seven conference teams were selected in 2010 and eight earned berths in both 2008 and 2009.

The 64-team NCAA Tournament opens the weekend of May 11-12 with the first two rounds at campus site. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will be held at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., from May 17-22.

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held in Athens following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 23 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 28. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced Wednesday evening.

First-round matchups include Duke (25-2) playing host to Winthrop (15-10), North Carolina (22-6) playing host to Richmond (14-4), and Miami (18-4) playing host to North Florida (16-4) on Friday, May 11, at 1 p.m. Virginia (18-7) will play host to Fairleigh Dickinson (16-7) at 2 p.m.

Other first-round action on May 11 finds Clemson (15-9) facing Arizona State (11-9) at Athens, Ga. Georgia Tech (14-11) will meet Oklahoma State (11-9) at Tuscaloosa, Ala., while Florida State (12-9) squares off against Washington State (18-6) at Gainesville, Fla.

Duke will be appearing in the NCAA field for the 24th time and the 23rd consecutive season. Miami is in the tournament for the 17th straight year and is hosting a regional for the eighth consecutive time. The Hurricanes will be playing in their 27th NCAA Tournament overall.

Clemson is set to make its 20th overall postseason appearance and 11th straight. Florida State will be taking part in NCAA play for the 16th time and the sixth straight year. North Carolina is making its 14th straight NCAA appearance and Georgia Tech its 13th. Virginia is also making its 13th overall NCAA appearance, and its fourth in a row.

Please see the attached file or the link below for a complete NCAA Women’s Championship bracket.