Eight ACC Teams Earn Spots in the 2013 NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

April 30, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Second-seeded North Carolina leads a group of eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship field, which gets underway on Friday, May 10.

No. 6 Miami, No. 13 Clemson and No. 14 Virginia joined North Carolina as national seeds and will host first and second round matches, while Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech and NC State also earned spots in the tournament, as announced by the NCAA early Tuesday evening.

This marks the 14th straight year - and the 15th in the last 16 - that the ACC has placed at least five representatives in the NCAA women's field.

The 64-team NCAA Championship opens the weekend of May 10-12 with the first two rounds at campus sites. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will be held at Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., from May 16-21.

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held in Urbana following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 22 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 27. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced Wednesday evening.

First-round matchups include Clemson (14-7) playing host to Eastern Kentucky (19-6), ACC Champion Miami (20-4) playing host to North Florida (16-4), North Carolina (25-3) playing host to South Carolina State (16-4), and Virginia (17-9) playing host to Fairleigh Dickinson (11-6).

Other first round matches include, NC State (14-9) against Notre Dame (17-8) at Ann Arbor, Mich., Florida State (16-9) playing Memphis (17-6) at Tuscaloosa, Ala., Duke (14-9) versus Ole Miss. (16-13) at Lubbock, Texas, and Georgia Tech (14-9) against Yale (17-3) at Gainesville, Fla.

Miami is in the tournament for the 18th straight year and is hosting first and second round matches for the ninth consecutive time. The Hurricanes will be playing in their 28th NCAA Tournament overall. Duke will be appearing in the NCAA field for the 25th time and the 24th consecutive season.

Clemson is set to make its 21st overall postseason appearance and 12th straight. Florida State will be taking part in NCAA play for the 17th time and the seventh straight year. North Carolina is making its 15th straight NCAA appearance and it will be the 11th time in the last 12 seasons the Tar Heels will play at home for the first and second rounds. Georgia Tech is appearing in its 14th straight NCAA Tournament, while Virginia is making its 14th overall NCAA appearance, and its fifth in a row. NC State returns to the field of 64 for first time since 2011 and the sixth time in program history.