Twelve ACC Softball Student-Athletes Earn All-Region Selection

May 20, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C.—Twelve Atlantic Coast Conference softball student-athletes earned all-region honors on either the Louisville Slugger/National Fastpitch Coaches Association Division I Mid-Atlantic or Southeast Region first or second teams, which were announced today by the NFCA. Five were named to a first team and seven were selected to a second team.

ACC Pitcher of the Year Danielle SpauldingGeorgia Tech senior second baseman Jen Yee—the 2010 ACC Player of the Year—and North Carolina senior pitcher/first baseman Danielle Spaulding were named to the first team in the Southeast region. Virginia seniors Nicole Koren, a pitcher/utility player, Sarah Tacke, an outfielder, as well as freshman pitcher Melanie Mitchell, garnered first-team honors in the Mid-Atlantic region.

Second-team selections in the Southeast include Florida State senior center fielder Carly Wynn and junior pitcher Sarah Hamilton, and Georgia Tech junior first baseman Kristine Priebe, sophomore shortstop Kelsi Weseman, and ACC Freshman of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player Hope Rush, a pitcher. In the Mid-Atlantic, Boston College senior second baseman Renee Ramos and Maryland senior third baseman Alex Schultz collected second-team accolades.

Among the 12 honorees, all 12 were named to the All-ACC first or second team last week and 11 will compete this weekend in the regional round of the NCAA Softball Championship. The Yellow Jackets and Terrapins host regional games in Atlanta, Ga. and College Park, Md., respectively. The Seminoles play in the Athens, Ga. regional, the Tar Heels play in Seattle, Wash., and the Cavaliers to Knoxville, Tenn.

A total of 256 student-athletes from 116 different institutions make up this season’s regional teams. The all-region teams were chosen by NFCA member coaches from each region, and all honorees are eligible for All-America selection, which will be announced Wednesday, June 2.

National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Region First Team*
Name Yr. Pos. School Region
Jen Yee Sr. 2B Georgia Tech Southeast
Danielle Spaulding Sr. P/1B North Carolina Southeast
Nicole Koren Sr. P/UTL Virginia Mid-Atlantic
Melanie Mitchell Fr. P Virginia Mid-Atlantic
Sarah Tacke Sr. OF Virginia Mid-Atlantic
National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Region Second Team*
Name Yr. Pos. School Region
Renee Ramos Sr. 2B Boston College Mid-Atlantic
Sarah Hamilton Jr. P Florida State Southeast
Carly Wynn Sr. CF Florida State Southeast
Kristine Priebe Jr. 1B Georgia Tech Southeast
Kelsi Weseman So. SS Georgia Tech Southeast
Hope Rush Fr. P Georgia Tech Southeast
Alex Schultz Sr. 3B Maryland Mid-Atlantic
* denotes ACC selections only