Five ACC Softball Teams Earn Bids to the NCAA Softball Championship

May 14, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – For the fourth time in the last seven years, five Atlantic Coast Conference teams were selected to the 64-team field of the NCAA Division I Softball Championship which begins Friday, May 18. Georgia Tech, which earned the league’s automatic bid, will be joined by Florida State, Maryland, North Carolina, and Virginia Tech.

Georgia Tech (36-21) will be in the Tuscaloosa Regional and will face South Alabama (39-15) on Friday. Also in the regional are second-seeded Alabama and Tennessee-Martin. The Yellow Jackets, who won their third ACC title in the last four years with Saturday’s victory over Virginia Tech, will be making their 11th-straight appearance in the tournament where they have a 19-20 record.

Florida State (46-14) earned its league-leading 25th tournament bid and 13th straight. The Seminoles will play San Diego State (30-22) in the Los Angeles regional with host UCLA taking on Hofstra. Florida State has compiled a 49-52 record in the tournament and has made seven trips to the College World Series.

Maryland will travel to the Seattle Regional in its third-straight NCAA appearance and fourth overall. The Terrapins (34-20) will take on Texas Tech (40-15) on Friday, with Harvard, the Ivy League champion, playing host Washington. Maryland is 5-6 in the NCAA Tournament and won 14 of its last 16 games to end the 2012 regular season and earn the at-large bid.

North Carolina (41-13), the regular-season ACC champion, will face Georgia Southern (42-18) on Friday in the Athens Regional, along with No. 10 Georgia and Coastal Carolina. This is the 10th appearance in the NCAA Tournament for the Tar Heels in the last 12 years where they have a 10-18 record.

Virginia Tech (40-19) will face UAB (37-20) in the Knoxville Regional and will be joined by Miami University and seventh-seeded Tennessee. This is Tech’s fifth appearance in the NCAA Tournament and the first since 2008 when the Hokies went to Knoxville and won that regional. Virginia Tech finished the season tied for third in the conference and beat Maryland and North Carolina to reach the finals of the ACC Championship.

The 2012 NCAA Division I Softball Championship begins Friday with four-team, double-elimination play at 16 regional sites. The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 24-27 at eight campus sites. The remaining eight teams will advance to the Women's College World Series, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament May 31-June 6 at the Amateur Softball Association Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla.