2010 All-ACC Softball Team Announced

May 14, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C.--The 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Georgia Tech picked up three of four individual awards, as senior second baseman Jen Yee and freshman Hope Rush were named Player and Freshman of the Year, respectively, and Yellow Jacket skipper Sharon Perkins earned Coach of the Year honors. North Carolina senior Danielle Spaulding collected Pitcher of the Year accolades.

Yee, who was named one of 10 finalists for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year on Wednesday, currently leads the league in batting average (.583), home runs (26), and runs batted-in (58), and is looking to become just the second player in league history to win the triple crown. Additionally, the New Delta, British Columbia, native leads the ACC in hits (77), runs (86), on-base percentage (.742), slugging percentage (1.303), walks (78), and total bases (172), and would become the first player in league annals to lead all nine categories. Yee's selection to the All-ACC first team is her second straight.

Spaulding, who was selected ACC Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009, took Pitcher of the Year honors to become just the third player in league history to win an individual award in three different seasons. The Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., native hurled her way to an 18-4 record in 30 starts in 2010, working 168.0 innings. Spaulding has struck out 275 batters to rank third in the ACC, while her 1.04 earned-run average and .114 opponents' batting average lead the ACC pitchers. She authored four of the league's 15 no-hitters this season, including three in an eight-day span when she blanked Delaware on Feb. 19, St. Joseph's on Feb. 21, and James Madison on Feb. 26. Spaulding's selection to the All-ACC first team is her third straight.

Rush is the second consecutive Yellow Jacket to earn Freshman of the Year honors (Kelsi Weseman) and fourth since 2005. She is currently tied for the league lead with 26 wins in 28 starts and is third in the ACC with 198.0 innings pitched. Rush, who received mention on the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year "Top-25 Watch List," has struck out 158 batters, has an ERA of 1.70, and allows opposing batters to a paltry .212 batting average. The Stockbridge, Ga., native also tossed a no-hitter this season, a five-inning outing against Virginia Tech on April 2.

Perkins, who is in her fourth year guiding the Georgia Tech softball program, collected her second consecutive Coach of the Year honor after leading the Yellow Jackets to a league record 19 ACC wins this season and the top seed in the 2010 ACC Softball Championship. Georgia Tech has been ranked inside the top-10 in both the USA Today/National Fastpitch Coaches Association and ESPN.com/USA Softball Collegiate polls for seven consecutive weeks. Under Perkins' tutelage, the Yellow Jackets rank in the top-10 in NCAA Division I in scoring (6.91 runs per game), home runs (1.95), and slugging percentage (.580), and at 46-9 overall, have the nation's seventh-best record.

Also highlighting this year's All-ACC team are three-time All-ACC picks Renee Ramos, a senior second baseman from Boston College, and Florida State senior outfielder Carly Wynn, who is making a return to the first team after a second-team appearance a season ago.

Georgia Tech sophomore shortstop Kelsi Weseman and Florida State senior pitcher Terese Gober and junior pitcher Sarah Hamilton are making their second appearance on the All-ACC team.

All eight teams were represented on the first or second team, with Georgia Tech leading all teams with six selections overall and four on the first team. Florida State had four picks, followed by North Carolina and Virginia with three apiece, NC State and Virginia Tech with two each, and Boston College and Maryland with one each.

ACC action continues this weekend in Blacksburg, Va., host of the 2010 ACC Softball Championship. Four games kick off the championship on Friday. Saturday's semifinals will be followed by Sunday's championship game, which will be televised live by CSN Mid-Atlantic, FS Carolina, FS Florida, and SportsSouth, and at 5:30 p.m. on Sunday on NESN. Veteran ACC analyst Mike Hogewood and USA Softball Assistant Coach Barbara Jordan will deliver the action.

Friday's first-round games and Saturday's semifinals will be video-streamed live via ACC Select on theACC.com. Follow all the championship action, including live statistics and video-stream, on the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/10-softball-championship.html.

2010 All-ACC Softball Team

First Team Name Yr. Pos. School Renee Ramos @ Sr. 2B Boston College Carly Wynn @ Sr. OF Florida State Jen Yee ! Sr. 2B Georgia Tech Hope Rush Fr. P/DP Georgia Tech Kelsi Weseman ! So. SS Georgia Tech Kristine Priebe Jr. 1B Georgia Tech Alex Schultz Sr. 3B Maryland Danielle Spaulding @ Sr. P/1B North Carolina Christine Knauer Sr. SS North Carolina Melanie Mitchell Fr. P Virginia

Second Team Name Yr. Pos. School Sarah Hamilton ! Jr. P Florida State Ashley Stager Jr. SS Florida State Terese Gober ! Sr. P Florida State Christy Jones Jr. CF Georgia Tech Kate Kuzma So. C/LF Georgia Tech Lindsay Campana Sr. P NC State Landon Warren So. OF NC State Ally Blake So. C North Carolina Sarah Tacke Sr. OF Virginia Nicole Koren Sr. DP Virginia Misty Hall Sr. SS Virginia Tech Richelle McGarva Jr. DP Virginia Tech

Player of the Year: Jen Yee, Sr., 2B, Georgia Tech Pitcher of the Year: Danielle Spaulding, Sr., North Carolina Freshman of the Year: Hope Rush, P/DP, Georgia Tech Coach of the Year: Sharon Perkins, Georgia Tech

! two-time selection @ three-time selection