ACC Leads All Conferences With Six On Soccer America MVPs team

Dec. 23, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference led all conferences with six players on the 2010 Soccer America MVPs team, including three first-team selections.

Boston College sophomore midfielder Kristie Mewis, Florida State junior defender Toni Pressley and Maryland junior forward Jasmyne Spencer were selected to the first team announced Wednesday by the publication. Second-team selections included ACC Defensive Player of the Year and Soccer America Freshman of the Year Crystal Dunn of North Carolina, ACC Offensive Player of the Year Sinead Farrelly of Virginia and Boston College sophomore forward Vicki DiMartino.

Stanford’s Christen Press was named Soccer America’s Player of the Year, while Dunn became the eighth North Carolina player – and the 12th ACC student-athlete in 24 years – to be named Freshman of the Year. Dunn was the first freshman to be named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, but her contributions up front and middle were perhaps the most important for UNC. Dunn, a defender in the U.S. girls national team program, often played up front -- she finished with five goals and five assists -- and was then pushed back into midfield as the Tar Heels protected leads late in games.

North Carolina's Dunn and Kealia Ohai were among five players from ACC schools named to the 2010 Soccer America All-Freshman first team. They were joined by ACC Freshman of the Year Katie Stengel of Wake Forest, Florida State defender Kassey Kallman and Duke midfielder Molly Pathman. Florida State goalkeeper Kelsey Wys, North Carolina defender Meg Morris and Duke forward Laura Weinberg earned spots on the All-Freshman second team.


Soccer America MVPs First Team
G Adrianna Franch, Oklahoma State, Soph.
D Cassie Dickerson, Ohio State, Soph.
D Lauren Fowlkes, Notre Dame, Sr.
F Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame, Jr.
F Sydney Leroux, UCLA, Jr.
M Kristie Mewis, Boston College, Soph.
F Alex Morgan, California, Sr.
F Christen Press, Stanford, Sr.
D Toni Pressley, Florida State, Jr.
F Jasmyne Spencer, Maryland, Jr.
M Keelin Winters, Portland, Sr.

MVPs Second Team
G Bianca Henninger, Santa Clara, Jr.
F Vicki DiMartino, Boston College, Soph.
D Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, Fr.
M Sinead Farrelly, Virginia, Sr.
D CoCo Goodson, UC Irvine, Jr.
F Sarah Hagen, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Jr.
F Morgan Marlborough, Nebraska, Soph.
D Kerry McBride, Marquette, Jr.
M Teresa Noyola, Stanford, Jr.
M Ingrid Wells, Georgetown, Jr.
D Kat Williamson, Florida, Soph.

All-Freshman First Team
G Emily Oliver, Stanford
M Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois
D Crystal Dunn, North Carolina
M Julie Johnston, Santa Clara
D Kassey Kallman, Florida State
M Mandy Laddish, Notre Dame
D Rachel Lenz, Texas A&M
F Kealia Ohai, North Carolina
M Mollie Pathman, Duke
F Jenna Richardson, Oregon State
F Katie Stengel, Wake Forest

All-Freshman Second Team
G Kelsey Wys, Florida State
D Cloee Colohan, Portland
M Nicholette DiGiacomo, Denver
M Mariana Garcia, The Citadel
D Meg Morris, North Carolina
D Kecia Morway, Notre Dame
M Alexa Newfield, Georgia
D Michelle Pao, Pepperdine
F Frances Silva, West Virginia
F Taylor Travis, Florida
F Laura Weinberg, Duke