Virginia's Farrelly, Wake Forest's Stengel Lead ACC Selections To Top Drawer Team Of The Season


Nov. 18, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year Sinead Farrelly of Virginia and ACC Freshman of the Year Katie Stengel of Wake Forest lead a strong ACC contingent among's 2010 national women's soccer honorees.

Farrelly is a first-team selection to Top Drawer's Team of the Season, while Stengel is the website's national Rookie of the Year.

Seven ACC student-athletes were named to the Team of the Season in all, including three second-team selections in the Boston College duo of Kristen Mewis and Victoria DiMartino, and North Carolina's Meghan Klingenberg. Florida State's Toni Pressley, Maryland's Jasmyne Spencer and North Carolina's Courtney Jones were named to the third team.

The ACC dominates the Top Drawer All-Rookie Teams, with four student-athletes among the 11-member first team and six among the 11-member second team. Stengel, the ACC's leader in goals scored with 16, leads the first team and is joined by ACC Defensive Player of the Year Crystal Dunn of North Carolina. The Tar Heels' Kealia Ohai and Duke's Mollie Pathman are also first-team selections.

Second-team selections include Florida State's Kelsey Wys and Kassey Kallman, North Carolina's Meg Morris, Clemson's Vanessa Laxgang, Duke's Laura Weinberg and Wake Forest's Rachel Nuzzolese.

2010 Team of the Season
Player of the Season: Christen Press, Stanford
1st Team
GK: Adrianna Franch, Oklahoma State
D: Lauren Barnes, UCLA
D: Rachel Quon, Stanford
D: Brittiny Rhoades, South Carolina
M: Sinead Farrelly, Virginia
M: Katy Frierson, Auburn
M: Christine Nairn, Penn State
M: Teresa Noyola, Stanford
F: Christen Press, Stanford
F: Alex Morgan, California
F: Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame

2nd Team
GK: Bianca Henninger, Santa Clara
D: Lauren Fowlkes, Notre Dame
D: Julie King, Auburn
D: Jessica Schuveiller, Notre Dame
M: Ingrid Wells, Georgetown
M: Kristen Mewis, Boston College
M: Meghan Klingenberg, North Carolina
M: Keelin Winters, Portland
F: Sydney Leroux, UCLA
F: Victoria DiMartino, Boston College
F: Kayla Grimsley, South Carolina

3rd Team
GK: Natalie Kulla, Marquette
D: Alina Garciamendez, Stanford
D: Toni Pressley, Florida State
D: Melinda Mercado, Oklahoma State
M: Erika Tymrak, Florida
M: Sophie Schmidt, Portland
M: Rachel Shipley, Texas A&M
F: Morgan Marlborough, Nebraska
F: Rachael Sloan, Marquette
F: Jasmyne Spencer, Maryland
F: Courtney Jones, North Carolina National All-Rookie Teams
Rookie of the Year: Katie Stengel, Wake Forest
1st Team

GK: Shelby Church, USC
D: Kecia Morway, Notre Dame
D: Crystal Dunn, North Carolina
D: Cloee Colohan, Portland
M: Jenna Richmond, UCLA
M: Mandy Laddish, Notre Dame
M: Taylor Travis, Florida
F: Micaela Capelle, Portland
F: Katie Stengel, Wake Forest
F: Mollie Pathman, Duke
F: Kealia Ohai, North Carolina

2nd Team
GK: Kelsey Wys, Florida State

D: Kailey Blain, Georgetown
D: Meg Morris, North Carolina
D: Kassey Kallman, Florida State

M: Nicole Locandro, Georgia
M: Haley Boysen, USC
M: Vanessa Laxgang, Clemson
F: Laura Weinberg, Duke
F: Rachel Nuzzolese, Wake Forest

F: Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois
F: Audrey Barry, William & Mary