ACC Leads All Conferences With Eight Teams In NCAA Women's Soccer Field

Nov. 8, 2010


  • 2010 Women's Soccer Bracket

    GREENSBORO, N.C. – Conference champion Wake Forest and fellow Top 10 nationally-ranked teams Maryland and North Carolina are among eight ACC squads that have been selected to compete in 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship.

    The ACC’s contingent of eight teams leads all conferences, just ahead of the seven selected from the Pac-10.

    The 64-team field, announced Monday afternoon, features North Carolina and Maryland as No. 1 national seeds, while Boston College, Florida State and Virginia will compete as No. 2 seeds. Wake Forest, fresh off its first ACC Championship, received a No. 4 seeding.

    Duke and Virginia Tech also made the field, giving the ACC a league-record tying eight teams in the tournament for a fourth straight year. The six national seeds also equal a conference record, set in 2008 and matched last year.

    All eight ACC teams selected for the 2010 NCAA Tournament are repeat selections from last year. This is the eighth straight year that at least seven ACC teams have made the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship field, and the 12th straight year that at least six have been selected.

    Play begins for all eight ACC teams on Friday (Nov. 12). Maryland, North Carolina, Boston College, Florida State and Virginia will be host schools for their first-round games will also host second-round games on Sunday should they advance.

    The eight ACC teams in the 2009 NCAA field posted a collective 20-7-1 record. Seven were among the Sweet 16. Four were among the Elite Eight (quarterfinalists), with North Carolina going on to capture the national title. The 20 wins were a conference postseason record.

    North Carolina enters the field as the two-time defending national champion and will be seeking is 21st NCAA title overall. The Tar Heels are the only program that has earned a spot in the NCAA tourney each of the 29 years since its inception in 1982 and own an all-time record of 106-7-1 in the event.

    Several other ACC teams will extend notable streaks with this year’s NCAA appearances. Virginia is in the field for the 17th straight year and the 22nd overall. Wake Forest will be competing for the 15th straight year. Florida State, which has reached four of the last seven Women’s College Cups as a Final Four participant, has been part of the tournament field every year since 2000 (11 straight appearances).

    It marks the eighth straight tournament appearance for Duke, and the Blue Devils’ 17th overall. Boston College is appearing for the eighth straight year (14th overall), and Maryland is appearing for the second straight year and the 11th time overall. Virginia Tech made the field for a third straight year (third overall).

    First-round matches will be played Friday, Nov. 11 and 12, at campus sites, and second-round matches will be played Sunday, Nov. 13 and 14, at the same campus sites. Each of the ACC eight teams open play on Friday and will play again on Sunday should they advance.

    North Carolina (17-2-2) plays host to Jackson State (13-6-1) on Friday at 5 p.m. in the first round of the UNC Regional. Duke (10-7-3) was placed in the other half of the UNC Regional bracket and will face California (9-5-5) in its NCAA opener at Gainesville, Fla., on Friday at 8:30 p.m.

    The Maryland Regional features three ACC teams. The host Terps (17-2-2) open play against High Point (10-10-1) at 5 p.m., while Virginia (13-4-2) plays host to Lehigh (11-4-4), and Virginia Tech (10-9-1) faces Dayton (18-3) at Columbus, Ohio.

    Florida State (13-5-1), seeded second in the Stanford Regional, plays host to Middle Tennessee (13-8-2). Boston College (13-6-1), seeded second in the Portland Regional, plays host to cross-town rival Boston University (16-5) in its first-round match on Friday at 4 p.m. Wake Forest (12-7-3) was also placed in the Portland Regional field and will make the cross-country flight to face San Diego (11-7-2) at Irvine, Calif.

    Third-round games will be played at on-campus sites Nov. 19, 20 or 21. Quarterfinal matches will be played November 26, 27 or 28. Times will be announced.

    The 29th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 3 and 5 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. National Semifinal No. 1 will be played at 4 p.m., while National Semifinal No. 2 will begin at approximately 6:30 p.m. ESPN2. ESPNU and ESPN3 will handle the broadcasts of those matches.

    The national championship match will is set for Sunday, December 5 at noon and will be broadcast live on ESPN2/

    Please see the attached file for the complete 2010 NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship bracket.

    For an interactive bracket, please see the link below: