ACC Places Record Nine Teams in 2011 NCAA Women's Soccer Tournament

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Highlighted by three No. 1 national seeds, the Atlantic Coast Conference placed a league record nine teams in the 2011 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship field announced Monday afternoon.

ACC champion Florida State (14-6-1), regular season first-place finisher Duke (17-3-1) and Wake Forest (14-3-4) were awarded the No. 1 national seeds. The three top seeds also sets a new conference standard, bettering the old mark of two established in 2009 and matched last year.

Those three schools were joined in the 64-team field by 2010 Women’s College Cup semifinalist Boston College (11-5-2), Maryland (10-5-4), Miami (9-7-1), North Carolina (11-5-1), Virginia (14-4-2) and Virginia Tech (12-7-1). Virginia was awarded a No. 2 national seed, while North Carolina will compete in the tournament as a No. 3 seed and Boston College is seeded fourth. This marks the fourth straight year six ACC teams have been nationally seeded, equaling yet another conference mark.

The No. 1 national seeds are the first ever for Duke and Wake Forest. Florida State also earned a No. 1 seeding in 2009.

Boston College, Duke, Florida State, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest are all repeat selections from last year, and Miami returns to the field after having last made back-to-back appearances in 2007 and 2008.

The nine ACC teams selected to the 2011 NCAA Tournament field leads all conferences, one ahead of the eight selected from the SEC. This is the ninth straight year that at least seven ACC teams have made the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship field, and the 13th straight year that at least six have been selected. Play begins for all nine ACC teams this weekend (Nov. 11-13).

North Carolina will be seeking is 21st NCAA title overall. The Tar Heels are the only Division I program that has earned a spot in the NCAA Tournament each of the 30 years since its inception in 1982 and own an all-time record of 108-8-1 in the event.

Several other ACC teams will extend notable streaks with this year’s NCAA appearances. Virginia is in the field for the 18th straight year and the 23rd overall. Wake Forest will be competing for the 16th straight year. Florida State has been part of the tournament field every year since 2000 (12 straight appearances), and has reached the Women’s College Cup four times during that run.

It marks the ninth straight tournament appearance for Duke, and the Blue Devils’ 18th overall. Boston College is appearing for the ninth straight year (15th overall), and Maryland is appearing for the third straight year and the 12th time overall. Virginia Tech made the field for a fourth straight year (fifth overall), while Miami is making its fourth all-time appearance.

First-round matches will be played this Friday, Saturday and Sunday at campus sites. Florida State plays host to Samford (14-5-2) on Friday at 7 p.m. Virginia (14-4-2) was placed in the other half of the FSU Regional bracket and will be at home to face Long Island (12-7-1), also Friday at 7. Virginia Tech (12-7-1) was also placed in the FSU Regional field and will visit West Virginia (17-4) in its tournament opener on Saturday at 6 p.m.

The Wake Forest Regional finds the Demon Deacons entertaining Oakland (14-3-4) in first-round action on Friday at 7 p.m. North Carolina will also be at home as the third-seeded team in the field and will take on William & Mary (17-2-2) on Saturday at 2 p.m.

Duke has a home date with Radford (15-5-1) on Sunday at 2 p.m., while Miami will also be at home against Alabama (10-8-3) on Friday at 5 p.m. In the Stanford Regional, Boston College will be at home to face Marist (13-5-2) in the opening round on Sunday at 1 p.m. Meanwhile, Maryland (10-5-4) will play host to La Salle (15-1-3) on Friday at 6 p.m.

Second and third-round games will be played at on-campus sites Nov. 18 and 20. Quarterfinal matches will be played November 25, 26 and 27. Times will be announced. The 30th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 2 and 4 at KSU Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, Ga. National Semifinal No. 1 will be played at 5 p.m., while National Semifinal No. 2 will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. The ACC has placed at least one team in the NCAA Women’s College Cup (final four) in 28 of the 29 years the event has been held.

The national championship match will is set for Sunday, December 4 at 1 p.m.

Please see the attached file for the complete 2011 NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship bracket.

For an interactive bracket, please see the link below: