2011 All-ACC Women's Soccer Team Announced

Nov. 3, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Duke, which finished atop the Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season standings for the second time in school history, leads the 2011 All-ACC Women’s Soccer team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

In addition to placing a league-high six players on the first or second All-ACC teams, the Blue Devils received two of the conference’s postseason individual awards in voting by the 11 head coaches. Sophomore Natasha Anasi was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, while Robbie Church earned Coach of the Year honors for the first time in his 11 years at the Duke helm.

Wake Forest sophomore forward Katie Stengel was voted the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, while midfielder Morgan Brian of Virginia received ACC Freshman of the Year honors.

Despite missing two games with a knee injury, Stengel ranks third in the ACC with 31 points this season and is third in goals scored with 13. She leads the conference at a 1.82 points-per-game scoring clip. The 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year, Stengel has scored 29 goals in her two seasons at Wake.

Anasi keyed a Duke defense that has allowed just seven goals in 20 games this season while registering a school-record 14 shutouts. Anasi’s work has helped the Blue Devils limit opponents to a goals-against average of just 0.35 per game.

The Blue Devils’ Church, whose team earned the top seed for 2011 ACC Championship and will face Wake Forest in Friday’s 5:30 p.m. semifinal match at Cary, N.C., has led the Blue Devils to a 17-2-1 overall record, matching the school record for wins in a single season. Duke also set a school record for ACC wins by posting an 8-1-1 record in conference play. Church owns 217 victories in 17 seasons as a women’s head soccer coach, including a 130-79-28 record at Duke.

Virginia’s Brian is tied for seventh among ACC players with 22 points and is tied for eighth in goals scored with eight. Brian helped the Cavaliers to a second-place ACC finish by scoring at least one goal in four straight matches late in the season, the longest such streak by a Cavalier since 2008. Brian was one of an league-best three Virginia players voted to the ACC 2011 All-Freshmen Team.

Each of the ACC’s 11 women’s soccer schools placed at least one student-athlete on this year’s All-ACC or All-Freshmen team.

In addition to Wake Forest’s Stengel, repeat first- or second-team honorees from 2010 include Boston College’s Kristen Mewis and Julia Bouchelle, Duke’s Mollie Pathman and Laura Weinberg, Florida State’s Tori Huster and Ines Jaurena, Maryland’s Jasmyne Spencer, and North Carolina’s Amanda Brooks, Crystal Dunn and Kealia Ohai. Florida State’s Tiffany McCarty, the 2009 ACC Offensive Player of the Year who missed last season due to injury, was also voted to this year’s team.

2011 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team
First Team
Name, Class, School Pos.
Kristen Mewis, Jr.., Boston College M
Kaitlyn Kerr, So., Duke M
Natasha Anasi, So., Duke D
Tori Huster, Sr., Florida State M
Ines Jaurena, Jr., Florida State D
Tiffany McCarty, Jr., Florida State F
Amber Brooks, Jr., North Carolina M
Crystal Dunn, So., North Carolina F
Morgan Brian, Fr., Virginia M
Caroline Miller, Jr., Virginia F
Aubrey Bledsoe, So., Wake Forest GK
Katie Stengel, So., Wake Forest F

Second Team
Name, Class, School Pos
Alaina Beyar, Sr., Boston College D
Julia Bouchelle, Sr., Boston College M
Tara Campbell, Jr., Duke GK
Kelly Cobb, Fr., Duke F
Mollie Pathman, So., Duke F
Laura Weinberg, So. Duke F
Jasmyne Spencer, Sr., Maryland F
Kate Howarth, Jr., Miami F
Kealia Ohai, So., North Carolina F
Kelly Conheeney, Jr., Virginia Tech M
Jazmine Reeves, So., Virginia Tech F
Caralee Keppler, Jr., Wake Forest D

Offensive Player of the Year – Katie Stengel, Wake Forest
Defensive Player of the Year – Natasha Anasi, Duke
Freshman of the Year – Morgan Brian, Virginia
Coach of the Year – Robbie Church, Duke

2011 ACC All-Freshmen Women’s Soccer Team
Name, School Pos.
Stephanie McCaffrey, Boston College F
Casey Morrison, Boston College D
Liska Dobberstein, Clemson M
Kelly Cobb, Duke F
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Florida State M
Jamia Fields, Florida State F
Shelli Spamer, NC State D
Olivia Brannon, Virginia D
Danielle Colaprico, Virginia M
Morgan Brian, Virginia M
Kim Marshall, Wake Forest D
Riley Ridgik, Wake Forest M