2010 All-ACC Women's Soccer Team Announced

Nov. 2, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Virginia senior Sinead Farrelly and North Carolina freshman Crystal Dunn highlight the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Soccer Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Farrelly was selected the ACC's Offensive Player of the Year, and Dunn was named the Defensive Player of the Year in a vote of the league's 11 head coaches. Wake Forest's Katie Stengel received Freshman of the Year honors, and Maryland's Brian Pensky was voted the Coach of the Year.

Farrelly, Dunn and Stengel were all voted All-ACC first team. Farrelly joins Boston College's Victoria DiMartino and Maryland's Jasmyne Spencer as a repeat first-team selection from last season. Three student-athletes who earned second-team honors in 2009 - Boston College's Kristie Mewis, and Florida State's Amanda DaCosta and Toni Pressley - were voted to this year's first team.

Farrelly, a midfielder from Havertown, Pa., becomes the first Virginia player to be named ACC Offensive Player of the Year since the league split the player of the year award into offensive and defensive categories in 2004. She has 10 goals and seven assists on the season, while starting all 18 games for the Cavaliers. In ACC play, she had four goals and a conference-high six assists. Her 78 career points rank 10th in school history.

Farrelly also becomes the third Cavalier to be named first-team All-ACC all four years of her career, joining Amanda Cromwell (1988-91) and Angela Hucles (1996-99). She is the 10th player in conference history to be a four-time first-team selection, and just the second to accomplish the feat in the 2000s.

Dunn, a defender from Rockville Centre, N.Y., stepped up to anchor a Tar Heel back line hit hard by graduation losses in 2009 and injuries this season. UNC, which owns a 16-2-1 overall record and will enter this week's ACC Championship as the No. 1 seed, allowed 0.83 goals per game during the regular season while posting 10 shutouts.

Dunn, the first freshman to be named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, also contributed to the Tar Heels offensively. Dunn ranks fifth among UNC scorers with 15 points, including four goals and five assists in ACC play.

Wake Forest's Stengel has established herself as one of the top players in the country in her first season. The Melbourne, Fla., native leads all ACC players with 14 goals and ranks second in the conference with 32 points - with both marks tying Wake Forest single-season records.

Maryland's Pensky, who has steadily rebuilt the Terps into a national power since taking over as head coach in 2005, will see his team enter the ACC Championship with a 15-2-1 overall record and seeded second after posting a 7-2-1 ledger in ACC play. The seven conference wins mark the highest ever for Maryland, which was picked to finish sixth in the ACC coaches' preseason poll. The Terps' .861 regular-season winning percentage topped the school-record .818 set in 1996.

Maryland's current No. 3 ranking by Soccer America represents its highest ever in any major poll. The Terps' 15 wins tie for the second-most in school history. Pensky becomes just the third ACC Women's Soccer of the Year from Maryland, and the school's first since 2002.

The 2010 All-ACC Women's Soccer Team is one of the youngest in memory. Dunn and Stengel are joined on the first team by fellow freshman Kealia Ohai of North Carolina. Duke freshmen Laura Weinberg and Mollie Pathman were named to the second team, along with Florida State freshmen Kassey Kallman and Kelsey Wys. Each was also selected to the 13-member ACC All-Freshmen team, with exception of Wys, a goalkeeper who took a redshirt year as a true freshman last season.

The All-Conference and All-Freshmen teams were announced on the eve of the 23rd annual Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Soccer Championship, which gets under way with four quarterfinal games on Wednesday at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The 2010 All-ACC Women's Soccer Team and All-Freshman Team are listed below.

2010 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team
First Team
Name, Class, School Pos.
Victoria DiMartino, So., Boston College F
Kristie Mewis, So., Boston College M
Amanda DaCosta, Sr., Florida State M
Toni Pressley, Jr., Florida State D
Jasmyne Spencer, Jr., Maryland F
Crystal Dunn, Fr., North Carolina D
Meghan Klingenberg, Sr., North Carolina M
Kealia Ohai, Fr., North Carolina F
Sinead Farrelly, Sr., Virginia M
Chantel Jones, Jr., Virgina GK
Katie Stengel, Fr., Wake Forest F
Second Team
Name, Class, School Pos
Julia Bouchelle, Jr., Boston College M
Mollie Pathman, Fr., Duke M
Laura Weinberg, Fr., Duke F
Tori Huster, Jr., Florida State F
Ines Jaurena, So., Florida State D
Kassey Kallman, Fr., Florida State D
Casey Short, M, Jr., Florida State M
Kelsey Wys, GK, Fr., Florida State GK
Amber Brooks, So., North Carolina M
Courtney Jones, Jr., North Carolina F
Meghan Lenczyk, Sr., Virginia F

Offensive Player of the Year – Sinead Farrelly, Virginia
Defensive Player of the Year –Crystal Dunn, North Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Katie Stengel, Wake Forest

Coach of the Year – Brian Pensky, Maryland

2010 ACC All-Freshmen Women’s Soccer Team
Name, School Pos.
Patrice Vetorri, M, Boston College M
Kaitlyn Kerr, Fr., Duke M
Mollie Pathman, Fr., Duke M
Laura Weinberg, Fr., Duke F
Kassey Kallman, Fr., Florida State D
Crystal Dunn, Fr., North Carolina D
Meg Morris, Fr., North Carolina D
Kealia Ohai, Fr., North Carolina F
Gloria Douglas, Fr. Virginia F
Jazmine Reeves, Fr., Virginia Tech F
Dayle Colpitts, Fr., Virginia Tech GK
Rachel Nuzzolese, Fr. Wake Forest F
Katie Stengel, Fr., Wake Forest F