Eight From ACC Named To Soccer America Women's Preseason Team

Aug. 16, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Eight Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes are among the 25 named to the Soccer America Women’s Preseason All-America Team announced on Thursday.

The ACC contingent includes each of the conference’s major individual award winners from 2011 – Offensive Player of the Year Katie Stengel of Wake Forest, Defensive Player of the Year Natasha Anasi of Duke and Freshman of the Year Morgan Brian of Virginia.

The squad also features Wake Forest goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe, Florida State defender Ines Jaurena and forward Tiffany McCarty, North Carolina midfielder Crystal Dunn and Boston College midfielder Kristen Mewis.

Each of the eight players named to the Soccer America Preseason All-America Team earned first-team All-ACC honors in 2011, and each was named to at least one postseason All-America team. Overall, 19 student-athletes that earned first- or second-team All-ACC honors in 2011 are set to return this season, including each of the league's top 10 scorers. The 2012 season gets under way Friday, with all 11 ACC teams scheduled to see action.

Defending NCAA champion Stanford, Florida State, Penn State and Wake Forest each had two players selected to the 2012 Soccer America Preseason Team. Please see below for the complete team listing.

Aubrey Bledsoe, Wake Forest, Jr.
Adrianna Franch, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Emily Oliver, Stanford, Jr.

Natasha Anasi, Duke, Jr.
Abigail Dahlkemper, UCLA, Soph.
Ines Jaurena, Florida State, Sr.
Alina Garciamendez, Stanford, Sr.
Ally Miller, Marquette, Sr.

Morgan Brian, Virginia, Soph.
Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois, Jr.
Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, Jr.
Julie Johnston, Santa Clara, Jr.
Kristen Mewis, Boston College, Sr.
Christine Nair, Penn State, Sr.
Mallory Schaffer, William & Mary, Sr.
Erika Tymrak, Florida, Sr.

Christine Exeter, Louisville, Jr.
Maya Hayes, Penn State, Jr.
Tishia Jewell, UCF, Sr.
Nadia Link, Long Beach State, Sr.
Tiffany McCarty, Florida State, Sr.
Kelley Monogue, Texas A&M, Soph.
Christabel Oduro, Memphis Jr.
Katie Stengel, Wake Forest, Jr.
Becca Wann, Richmond, Soph.