ACC places seven on Soccer America Preseason Women's All-America Team

Aug. 16, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Boston College leads all schools with three student-athletes named to the 2011 Soccer America Preseason Women’s All-America team, and a total of seven Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes were named to the 25-member team announced by the publication Tuesday morning.

In addition to the BC trio of goalkeeper Jillian Mastroianni, midfielder Kristie Mewis and forward Vicki DiMartino, the ACC is represented by Florida State defender Toni Pressley, Maryland forward Jasmyne Spencer, North Carolina midfielder Crystal Dunn (2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year) and Wake Forest forward Katie Stengel (2010 ACC Freshman of the Year).

The ACC is coming off a 2010 season that saw a league-record tying eight teams receive NCAA Tournament berths and record 14 postseason wins. Five of those teams reached at least the final 16 of the NCAA tourney and five – Boston College, North Carolina, Florida State, Virginia and Maryland – were ranked among the nation’s final top 10. With Boston College advancing to play in the 2010 College Cup, the ACC has placed at least one team among the final four of the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship in 28 of the 29 years the event has been held.

The 2011 season gets under way this weekend (Aug. 19-21), when all 11 ACC teams are scheduled to see action.

Adrianna Franch, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Bianca Henninger, Santa Clara, Sr.
Jillian Mastroianni, Boston College, Sr.

Cassie Dickerson, Ohio State, Jr.
Alina Garciamendez, Stanford, Jr.
CoCo Goodson, UC Irvine, Sr.
Kerry McBride, Marquette, Sr.
Toni Pressley, Florida State, Sr.
Jessica Schuveiller, Notre Dame, Sr.
Kat Williamson, Florida, Jr.

Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, Soph.
Katie Frierson, Auburn, Sr.
Kristie Mewis, Boston College, Jr.
Christine Nairn, Penn State, Jr.
Teresa Noyola, Stanford, Sr.
Ingrid Wells, Georgetown, Sr.

Vicki DiMartino, Boston College, Jr.
Danielle Foxhoven, Portland, Sr.
Sarah Hagen, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Sr.
Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame, Sr.
Sydney Leroux, UCLA, Sr.
Morgan Marlborough, Nebraska, Jr.
Jasmyne Spencer, Maryland, Sr.
Katie Stengel, Wake Forest, Soph.
Colleen Williams, Dayton, Jr.