ACC Leads 2011 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 16, 2011

The Atlantic Coast Conference, with a total of nine selections, is the league with the most representatives among 42 female athletes named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2011 season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

ACC representatives on this year's list include Boston College forward Vicki DiMartino (the 2009 ACC Freshman of the Year) and midfielder Kristen Mewis; Florida State forward Tiffany McCarty (the 2009 ACC Offensive Player of the Year) and defender Toni Pressley; Maryland forward Jasmyne Spencer; North Carolina defender Crystal Dunn (the 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year) and forward Kealia Ohai; Virginia goalkeeper Chantel Jones, and Wake Forest forward Katie Stengel (the 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year).

Four other conferences had five players each selected to the list: the Big 10, the Big East, the Pac-12 and the Southeastern Conference. Ten of the players named to the Watch List are returning semifinalists from the 2010 award, including Melissa Henderson a senior forward for reigning national champion Notre Dame who is the lone returnee from the three 2010 finalists. A total of 34 different schools are represented on the list.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Pos. Name School
M Tahnai Annis Florida
M Courtney Barg Notre Dame
F Kaitlin Bast Denver
K Justine Bernier Alabama
K Colleen Boyd Oregon State
M Kate Deines Washington
M Vanessa DiBernardo Illinois
F Vicki DiMartino Boston College
D Crystal Dunn North Carolina
F Danielle Foxhoven Portland
K Adrianna Franch Oklahoma State
M Katy Frierson Auburn
D Coco Goodon UC Irvine
F Kayla Grimsley South Carolina
F Sarah Hagen Milwaukee
F Melissa Henderson Notre Dame
K Biana Henniger Santa Clara
K Laura Heyboer Michigan State
K Chantel Jones Virginia
K Sydney Leroux UCLA
D Lindsi Lisonbee Brigham Young
F Morgan Marlborough Nebraska
F Merritt Mathias Texas A&M
F Paige Maxwell Ohio State
D Kerry McBride Marquette
F Tiffany McCarty Florida State
D Molly McGuigan U.S. Military Academy
D Melinda Mercado Oklahoma State
M Kristen Mewis Boston College
M Christine Nairn Penn State
M Teresa Noyola Stanford
F Stephanie Ochs San Diego
F Kealia Ohai North Carolina
D Toni Pressley Florida State
M Bri Rodriguez West Virginia
F Jasyme Spencer Maryland
F Katie Stengel Wake Forest
D Courtney Verloo Stanford
M Ingrid Wells Georgetown
F Colleen Williams Dayton
D Kathryn Williamson Florida
D Brianne Young Texas A&M