ACC leads all conferences with nine women on MAC Hermann Trophy watch list

Aug. 11, 2010


The Atlantic Coast Conference, with a total of nine selections, is the league with the most representatives among the list of 45 female athletes named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2010 season. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by NCAA Division I coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Boston College, ranked No. 7 in the NSCAA national pre-season poll, led the charge for the ACC with three selections: Victoria DiMartino, Jillian Mastroianni and Kristen Mewis. Reigning national champion and pre-season No. 1 North Carolina and No. 6 Florida State each had two players named to the list. Ali Hawkins and Amber Brooks were named from UNC. Tiffany McCarty, the 2009 ACC Offensive Player of the Year represents FSU, as does fellow junior Toni Pressley.

Senior Sinead Farrelly of Virginia and junior Jasmyne Spencer of Maryland round out list of ACC pre-season candidates.

With seven selections, the Pac-10 Conference isn't far behind the ACC. No. 2 Stanford and No. 3 UCLA each had three players named. Five teams had three players recognized; joining Boston College, Stanford and UCLA are Notre Dame and Portland.

A total of 30 different schools and four countries are represented on the list, including players from the United States, Canada, Germany and Jamaica.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 7, 2011, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

2010 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

 Pos.  Name  Class  School  Hometown
 M  Courtney Barg  Jr.  Notre Dame  Plano, Texas
 D  Lauren Barnes  Sr.  UCLA  Upland, Calif.
 D  Kathleen Beljan  Jr.  Dayton  Hilliard, Ohio
 F  Ashley Berra  Sr.  Memphis.  Cordova, Tenn
 M  Amber Brooks  So.  North Carolina  New Hope, Pa.
 M  Kendra Chandhoke  Sr.  Portland  Morrison, Colo.
 D  Jennie Clark  Sr.  Minnesota  Norwalk, Iowa
 M  Omolyn Davis  Sr.  George Mason  Kingston, Jamaica
 M  Gina DeMaio  Sr.  Rutgers  Parsippany Hills, N.J.
 D  Cassie Dickerson  Sr.  Ohio State  Kalamazoo, Mich.
 F  Victoria DiMartino  So.  Boston College  Massapequa Park, N.Y.
 M  Sinead Farrelly  Sr.  Virginia  Havertown, Pa.
 D  Lauren Fowlkes  Sr.  Notre Dame  Lee's Summit, Mo.
 F  Danielle Foxhoven  Jr.  Portland  Littleton, Colo.
 K  Katie Fraine  Sr.  Florida  Titusville, Fla.
 K  Adrianna Franch  So.  Oklahoma State  Salina, Kan.
 M  Katy Frierson  Jr.  Auburn  Homewood, Ala.
 G  Alexa Gaul  So.  Texas  Naperville, Ill.
 F  Kayla Grimsley  Jr.  South Carolina  Lakeland, Fla.
 M  Sarah Hagen  Jr.  Wisconsin-Milwaukee  Appleton, Wis.
 M  Ali Hawkins  Sr.  North Carolina  Encinitas, Calif.
 F  Melissa Henderson  Jr.  Notre Dame  Garland, Texas
 K  Bianca Henninger  Jr.  Santa Clara  Los Gatos, Calif.
 F  Laura Heyboer  Jr.  Michigan State  Hudsonville, Mich.
 F  Sydney Leroux  Jr.  UCLA  Vancouver, B.C.
 F  Morgan Marlborough  So.  Nebraska  Lee's Summit, Mo.
 K  Jillian Mastroianni  Jr.  Boston College  Durham, Conn.
 F  Tiffany McCarty  Jr.  Florida State  Laurel, Md.
 F  Kristen Mewis  So.  Boston College  Hanson, Mass.
 F  Alex Morgan  Sr.  California-Berkeley  Diamond Bar, Calif.
 M  Christine Nairn  So.  Penn State  Arnold, Md.
 M  Annika Niemeier  Sr.  Oklahoma State  Willingen-Usseln, Germany
 M  Mariah Nogueira  So.  Stanford  Westminster, Calif.
 F  Devin Petta  So.  North Eastern  Whitman, Mass.
 F  Christen Press  Sr.  Stanford  Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.
 F  Toni Pressley  Jr.  Florida State  Melbourne, Fla.
 D  Rachel Quon  So.  Stanford  Lake Forest, Ill.
 M  Teresa Rynier  Sr.  James Madison  Leola, Pa.
 M  Sophie Schmidt  Sr.  Portland  Abbotsford, B.C.
 M  Rachel Shipley  Sr.  Texas A&M  Plano, Texas
 F  Jasyme Spencer  Jr.  Maryland  Bay Shore, N.Y.
 M  Vendula Strnadova  Sr.  Memphis  Las Cruces, N.M.
 F  Danielle Toney  Sr.  Penn State  Northville, Mich.
 M  Ingid Wells  Jr.  Georgetown  Upper Montclair, N.J.
 M  Kylie Wright  Sr.  UCLA  Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.