U.S. Women's World Cup Roster Features Four From ACC

June 27, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Four former Atlantic Coast Conference standouts will be part of the United States Women's National Team that open plays against Korea DPR in a FIFA Women's World Cup Germany 2011 Group C match on Tuesday at Dresden's Glücksgas Stadium.

Former North Carolina midfielders Heather O'Reilly and Tobin Heath will join former Virginia midfielder Lori Lindsey and former Cavalier defender Becky Sauerbrunn as the USA squad begins it quest for its third World Cup title overall and its first since 1999.

O'Reilly, a four-time college All-American (2003-06), who currently competes for the Sky Blue FC in the WPS, enters this year's World Cup with 29 goals and 141 caps in international competition. With two previous goals, she is one of just three players on the current U.S. roster that have scored in previous World Cup competition.

Heath, another four-time All-America player at UNC (2006-09), also currently plays for the Sky Blue FC. Heath owns two goals and 29 caps in international play, and is one of five players on the U.S. roster who also played on the 2008 gold medal Olympic team.

Sauerbrunn, who plays professionally for the MagicJack, was a three-time All-America selection at Virginia and enters the World Cup with 10 international caps. Lindsey, who plays professionally for the Philadelphia Independence, earned All-America honors in 2000 and 2001. She enters the World Cup with 22 international caps.

Sauerbrunn and Lindsey made the team after seeing limited national team action earlier in their careers, but both came on strong over the past year or so. Lindsey earned one cap in 2005 and did not play again for the USA until 2010, when she earned 10 caps and fashioned a role for herself off the bench in the center midfield. Sauerbrunn earned two caps in 2008, but did not return to the U.S. team until last fall, when she made the roster for CONCACAF qualifying and worked her way into the mix with consistent play and versatility on the back line, appearing in one game last year and six so far this year.

Sauerbrunn will wear uniform No. 4 for the U.S. team, while O'Reilly will wear No. 9, Lindsey No. 16 and Heath No. 17.

A fifth-former ACC star, midfielder Lindsay Tarpley, a member of the USA's Olympic gold medal winning team in 2004 and 2008 and a member of the USA's 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup Team, earned a spot on this year's original roster but will not compete due to injury. Tarpley tore the anterior cruciate ligament in her right knee with 15 minutes remaining in the match against Japan on May 14 in Columbus, Ohio.

Coverage of Tuesday's match will begin at 11:45 a.m. Eastern Time on ESPN and ESPN3.com.