2012 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Nov. 1, 2012

2012 All-ACC Field Hockey Team Announced

Seventeen student-athletes were honored on Wednesday as part of the 2012 Field Hockey All-ACC team, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. The accolades are voted on by the league's six head coaches.

Headling the 2012 All-ACC team are Virginia's Paige Selenski and North Carolina's Kelsey Kolojejchick. The two have been named to the squad four times, and are just the eighth and ninth players in the 30-year history of ACC field hockey to be four-time honorees.

Seven more student-athletes earned their third career All-ACC recognition: the Maryland trio of Megan Frazer, Jill Witmer, and Harriet Tibble; North Carolina's Caitlin Van Sickle, the two-time ACC Defensive Player of the Year; Virginia's Michelle Vittese and Elly Buckley; and Wake Forest's Lizzie Rae.

All six of the league's teams are represented on the All-ACC squad, led by five student-athletes from top-ranked North Carolina, four from No. 6 Virginia, and three from No. 7 Maryland. Wake Forest and Duke had two student-athletes recognized, followed by Boston College with one.

The 2012 ACC Field Hockey Championship gets under way Thursday in Chapel Hill, N.C. Thursday's quarterfinals and Friday's semifinals start at 1 and 3:30 p.m., and Sunday's final is scheduled for 1 p.m.

For more information, visit the official site of the 2012 ACC Field Hockey Championship at http://theacc.co/FHChamp.

@ - Two-time selection # - Three-time selection

2012 All-ACC Field Hockey Team
Player Year Postiion University
Emma Plasteras So. M Boston College
Paula Heimbach Jr. D Duke
Harriet Tibble Sr. D Maryland
Jill Witmer Jr. F Maryland
Megan Frazer # Sr. M Maryland
Caitlin Van Sickle # Sr. B North Carolina
Charlotte Craddock So. F North Carolina
Emily Wold Fr. M/B North Carolina
Katie Ardrey @ Sr. F North Carolina
Kelsey Kolojejchick % Sr. M North Carolina
Elly Buckley # Jr. B Virginia
Jenny Johnstone So. GK Virginia
Michelle Vittese # RSr M Virginia
Paige Selenski % RSr F Virginia
Anna Kozniuk @ So. B/M Wake Forest
Lizzie Rae # Sr. M/ Wake Forest
The Conference