Thirteen ACC Rowers Named to CRCA All-Region Teams

May 29, 2013

GREENSBORO, NC — The Atlantic Coast Conference had a total of 13 of its 2013 Rowers selected to All-Region Teams selected by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) the CRCA announced Tuesday.

Eight of the ACC honorees were first-team selections in the South Region including Sarah Cowburn (Redditch, England), Susanne Grainger (London, Ontario, Canada), Kristine O’Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.) and Sarah Jordan (Flourtown, Pa.) of Virginia; Katie Dukovich (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Emily Theys (Stoughton, Wis.) of Duke; Laura Basadonna (Torino, Italy) of Clemson and Katalin Horvath (Gyor, Hungary) of Miami.

Four other ACC rowers earned section to the All-South Region second team in Grace Cassidy (New Fairfield, Conn.) of Duke, Heather Cummings (Virginia Beach, Va.) of Clemson, Breanna Hayton (Victoria, B.C.) of Miami and Fiona Schlesinger (N. Malden, England) of Virginia.

Boston College sophomore Ellen Burr (Cazenovia, N.Y.) was named to the New England All-Region second team.

O’Brien, a 2012 CRCA first-team All-America, was honored as a first-team All-South Region team member for the third straight year.

Cummings, a second-team All-America last year, was also honored for the third time. She was a first-team pick in 2012 and earned second-team All-South Region honors in 2011.

Theys was named to the first-team All-South squad for the second straight year, while Cowburn, also a first-team All-America in 2012, earned an All-South Region berth for the second straight year as well. She was named to the second-team All-South squad last year.

Dukovich was honored recently as the ACC’s 2013 Freshman of the Year, an honor that Boston College’s Burr received in 2012.

Finally, O’Brien, Cowburn, Grainger, Schlesinger, Jordan, Theys, Horvath, Hayton and Burr were all selected to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Rowing team announced earlier this month.

The five Virginia honorees, all from UVa’s First Varsity Eight boat, will compete this weekend in the NCAA Rowing Championships, which will be held Friday through Sunday at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind.

Those selected from the ACC include:

South All-Region, First Team
Laura Basadonna, Jr., Clemson (Torino, Italy)
Sarah Cowburn, Gr., Virginia (Redditch, Worcestershire, England)
Katie Dukovich, Fr., Duke (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Susanne Grainger, Sr., Virginia (London, Ontario, Canada)
Katalin Horvath, Sr., Miami (Gyor, Hungary)
Kristine O’Brien, Sr., Virginia (Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
Emily Theys, Sr., Duke (Stoughton, Wis.)
Sarah Jordan, Jr., Virginia, coxswain (Flourtown, Pa.)

South All-Region, Second Team
Grace Cassidy, Jr., Duke (New Fairfield, Conn.)
Heather Cummings, Sr., Clemson (Virginia Beach, Va.)
Breanna Hayton, Jr., Miami (Victoria, British Columbia)
Fiona Schelsinger, So., Virginia, (N. Malden, Surrey, England)

New England All Region, Second Team
Ellen Burr, So., Boston College (Cazenovia, N.Y.)