22 Atlantic Coast Conference Rowers Named 2010 CRCA Scholar-Athletes

May 26, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference had 22 student-athletes honored by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) as members of its 2010 list of Rowing Scholar Athletes Wednesday, with Clemson leading all ACC schools with nine selections.

To be named a CRCA Scholar-Athlete a student-athlete must have met all of the eligibility rules of her institution; must be in her 3rd or 4th year of eligibility; must have rowed in a minimum of 75% of her schools spring races or race in a regional conference event and have maintained a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least a 3.5 for her career through this past fall semester.

Clemson, ranked 12th nationally in the most recent CRCA national poll, had nine selections including Andrea Belbusti (Ridgeville, S.C.), Becca Brown (Greenville, S.C.), Allison Colberg (Six Mile, S.C.), Taylor Hoynacki (Tega Cay, S.C.), Katherine Mosier (Piscataway, N.J.), Kelly Murphy (Marietta, Ga.), Michelle Nance (Simpsonville, S.C.), Mairi Trimboli (Ludlow, Vt.) and Melissa Weaver (Greer, S.C.). This is the third straight year that Colberg, Nance and Trimboli have earned selection as CRCA Scholar-Athletes, while Belbusti and Murphy were each honored for the second time.

Boston College and Duke were next each with four selections. CRCA Scholar-Athletes from BC were Emily Charnowski (St. Louis, Mo.), Elisabeth Lobkowicz (Delray Beach, Fla.), Brigid Morrissey (McLean, Va.) and Rachel Pettis (Acworth, Ga.). Lobkowicz was honored for the third time this year, while Morrissey earned her second honor.

Duke’s honorees were Tori Arendt (North Royalton, Ohio), Joline Doedens (Stuart, Fla.), Rory Erickson-Kulas (Naugatuck, Conn.) and Ali Long (New Haven, Conn.).

Virginia, the nation’s No. 1 Rowing team in this week’s CRCA national poll, had three rowers tabbed as CRCA Scholar-Athletes in Sara Borchelt (Boston, Mass.), Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.) and Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.). The honor was the second straight for Nelson.

North Carolina had two rowers selected as CRCA Scholar Athletes in Jennifer Nowicki (Greenlawn, N.Y.) and Brittany Walsh (Hampstead, N.C.). Walsh was honored by the CRCA for the second straight year.

ACC Rowers Named CRCA Scholar-Athletes (22)
Boston College (4)
Emily Charnowski (St. Louis, Mo.)
Elisabeth Lobkowicz (Delray Beach, Fla.)
Brigid Morrissey (McLean, Va.)
Rachel Pettis (Acworth, Ga.)

Clemson (9)
Andrea Belbusti (Ridgeville, S.C.)
Becca Brown (Greenville, S.C.)
Allison Colberg (Six Mile, S.C.)
Taylor Hoynacki (Tega Cay, S.C.)
Katherine Mosier (Piscataway, N.J.),
Kelly Murphy (Marietta, Ga.),
Michelle Nance (Simpsonville, S.C.)
Mairi Trimboli (Ludlow, Vt.)
Melissa Weaver (Greer, S.C.).

Duke (4)
Tori Arendt (North Royalton, Ohio)
Joline Doedens (Stuart, Fla.)
Rory Erickson-Kulas (Naugatuck, Conn.)
Ali Long (New Haven, Conn.).

North Carolina
Jennifer Nowicki (Greenlawn, N.Y.)
Brittany Walsh (Hampstead, N.C.)

Sara Borchelt (Boston, Mass.)
Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.)