Third-Ranked Virginia Captures 10th ACC Rowing Title in 11 Years

April 24, 2010


CLEMSON, SC--Virginia, the nation's third-ranked Rowing team, won all four events to recapture their Atlantic Coast Conference title, at the 11th Annual ACC Rowing Championships held Saturday on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C.

The Cavaliers swept all four events in the ACC Championships for the first time since 2007, and defeated host Clemson, the defending ACC Champions and the nation's 13th-ranked Rowing team, by totaling 60 points. Clemson, which finished second in all four races, finished second with 50 points, followed in order by Duke with 36, Boston College (26), North Carolina (18) and Miami (14).

The win for Virginia marked the 10th ACC title for the Cavaliers in the 11-year history of the ACC Rowing Championship. Saturday's event also marked the 8th time Clemson has hosted the event on Lake Hartwell. The event was held amidst intermittent light showers and calms winds.

Virginia 2010 ACC champion

Virginia was led by its First Varsity Eight boat composed of coxswain Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.), and rowers Jennifer Cromwell (Bellvue, Wash.), Katrin Reinert (Stuttgart, Germany), Desiree Burns (Poughkeepsie, N. Y.), Kristine O'Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.), Martha Kuzzy (Minneapolis, Minn.), Helen Tompkins (Friendswood, Tex.), Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.) and Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.).

UVa's First Varsity Eight posted a time of 6:34.2 to finish first ahead of Clemson (6:45.8), Duke (6:56.5), Miami (7:02.6), Boston College (7:05.4) and North Carolina (7:22.5) to clinch to title for the Cavaliers. Virginia's First Varsity Eight Boat was later voted as the ACC Crew of the Year by the league's head coaches.

Virginia's Second Varsity Eight Boat captured its race with a time of 6:59.4 to defeat Clemson (7:12.2), Duke (7:23.9), Boston College (7:34.8) and North Carolina (7:44.9). The Second Varsity Eight boat was composed of coxswain Christine Candland (Greenwich, Conn.), and rowers Victoria Burke, Lauren Shook (Grosse Point Park, Mich.), Lauren Hutchins (North Vancouver, Can.), Marie Long (Frederick, Md.), Keziah Beall (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Christine Roper (Reading, Jamaica), Claudia Blandford Winnipeg, Can.) and Inge Janssen (Voorburg, The Netherlands).,

The Cavaliers Novice Eight captured its race with a time 6:49.4, ahead of Clemson (6:59.3), North Carolina (7:23.7) and Boston College (8:14.6). The Cavaliers Novice Eight was composed of coxswain Erin Friedlaner (Centreville, Va.), and rowers Eric Metcalf (Knoxville, Tenn.), Allison Lyons (Reading, Mass.), Sandy Suhling (Stafford, Va.), Susanne Grainger (London, Ontario, Can.), Molly Schwoebel (Crozet, Va.), Ainsley Lastner (Devon, Pa.), Ann Reid (Midlothian, Va.) and Taylor Levine (Margate, N.J.).

Virginia's First Varsity Four also captured its race with a time of 7:08.1 to outdistance Clemson (7:19.6), Duke (7:40.9), Boston College (7:44.5), North Carolina (7:47.0) and Miami (8:11.6). Neither Miami nor Duke competed in the First Varsity Four. Virginia's First Varsity Four was composed of coxswain Sarah Pichardo (Clifton, Va.) and rowers Mackenzie Leahy (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), Hunter Terry (Greenwich, Conn.), Ruth Retzinger (Stuttgart, Germany) and Sarah Borchelt (Boston, Mass.)

Virginia Head Coach Kevin Sauer was named ACC Coach of the Year, the sixth time he has been so honored.

Virginia's Kristine O'Brien, a freshman from Massapequa Park, N.Y.) was named the ACC Freshman of the Year. O'Brien is the only freshman on Virginia's First Varsity crew.

UVa's First Varsity Eight crew was also named the ACC Crew of the Year.

The All-ACC Rowing team was also announced and it was composed of North Carolina's Megan McMullin (Burke, Va.), Miami's Sarah Medlund (Melbourne, Australia), Boston College's Laura Petty (Bethesda, Md.) and Tori Greco (Fort Salonga, N.Y.), Duke's Alex Japhet (Everett, Wash.) and Rory Erickson-Kulas (Naugatuck, Conn.); Clemson's Michelle Nance (Simpsonville, S.C.), Brittany Cummings (Virginia Beach, Va.) and Grace Wolff (Chanhassen, Minn.); and Virginia's Jennifer Cromwell (Bellvue, Wash.), Desiree Burns (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.), Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.), Helen Tompkins (Friendswood, Tex.) and Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.).

The All-ACC accolades were the second for Duke's Alex Japhet (who was honored in 2008), UNC's Megan McMullin as well as for Clemson's Brittany Cummings and Michelle Nance.

Team Totals--1. Virginia, 60; 2. Clemson, 50; 3. Duke, 36; 4. Boston College, 26; 5. North Carolina, 18; 6. Miami, 14.

First Varsity Eight--1.Virginia, 6:34.2; 2. Clemson, 6:45.8; 3. Duke, 6:56.5; 4. Miami, 7:02.6; 5. Boston College 7:05.4; 6. North Carolina, 7:22.5.

Second Varsity Eight--1. Virginia, 6:59.4; 2. Clemson, 7:12.2; 3. Duke, 7:23.9; 4. Boston College, 7:34.8; 5. North Carolina, 7:44.9. (Miami did not participate).

Novice Eight--1. Virginia, 6:49.4; 2. Clemson, 6:59.3; 3. North Carolina, 7:23.7: 4. Boston College, 8:14.6. (Duke and Miami did not participate)

First Varsity Four--1. Virginia, 7:08.1; 2. Clemson, 7:19.6; 3. Duke, 7:40.9; 4. Boston College, 7:44.5; 5. North Carolina, 7:47.0; 6. Miami, 8:11.6.

ACC Crew of the Year--Coxswain Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.), and rowers Jennifer Cromwell (Bellvue, Wash.), Katrin Reinert (Stuttgart, Germany), Desiree Burns (Poughkeepsie, N. Y.), Kristine O'Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.), Martha Kuzzy (Minneapolis, Minn.), Helen Tompkins( Friendswood, Tex.), Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.) and Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.).

All-ACC Rowing Team
Megan McMullin, North Carolina (Burke, Va.)
Sarah Medlund, Miami (Melbourne, Australia)
Laura Petty, Boston College (Bethesda, Md.)
Tori Greco, Boston College (Fort Salonga, N.Y.)
Alex Japhet, Duke (Everett, Wash.)
Rory Erickson-Kulas, Duke (Naugatuck, Conn.)
Michelle Nance, Clemson (Simpsonville, S.C.)
Brittany Cummings, Clemson (Virginia Beach, Va.)
Grace Wolff, Clemson (Chanhassen, Minn.)
Jennifer Cromwell, Virginia (Bellvue, Wash.)
Desiree Burns, Virginia (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.)
Nora Phillips, Virginia (Arlington, Va.)
Helen Tompkins, Virginia (Friendswood, Tex.)
Sidney Thorsten, Virginia (Atlanta, Ga.).

ACC Coach of the Year--Kevin Sauer, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year--Kristine O'Brien, Virginia (Massapequa Park, N.Y.)